Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
i was playing a friendly game againtst tau with my Grey knights and i wanted to charge his hammerhead but there was a squad in the way. I had an incinerator in the squad and said i was shooting at the hammerhead (even though i couldn't hurt it) and hit everybot between me and the tank killing them all. I then charged the tank and killed it. We looked through the rules but couldn't find anything on it and so i got to do it again later in the same game.
But lost, i think what he is trying to say is that he said he was shooting at the tank, even though he was trying to kill the squad in front of it, so he could assault the tank.
Thats a perfectly legal tactic and ruthless tactic to use, especially against Tau. But if there are a few models blocking the way, then you may NOT assault the hammerhead.
Going by the letter of the rules, actually he could. The original target was the Hammerhead, so if the flame template managed to clear a way through the squad in front of the vehicle, leaving sufficient room for the assaulting models to get through (ie a gap at least wide enough to allow the passage of the assaulting models' base size) then there was no breaking of the rules for assault.
The only thing I would like to know is this: is there *anything* in the rules which states that you may NOT target an enemy unit which you know you cannot harm? The flamer had no hope whatsoever of doing anything to the Hammerhead, as the OP said.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
It is a legal move as long as you try to over as much of the hammer head as possible with the template.
There is no rule that says you cannot hit a different unit with the template, just that all models under the template are affected.
Arch Overfiend & Grand Despot
I currently play:
Doom Eagle Space Marines
Hive Fleet Omega Tyranids
Goff Ork Boyz(dead)
Tau of O'me
Inquisitorial Xeno Hunters
and my attempted foray into fantasy
'Dark Angel Green' Dark Elves in need of fluff
Seems perfectly legal to me, it's obvious that the intent was not to harm the Hammerhead but by the letter of the rules it's allowed.
Just remember you have to put as much of the template over the vehicle as possible, you can't just clip it slightly and put the bulk on the infantry. (also means that sometimes the 'legal' shot is no straight ahead!)