Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was wondering what the new 5th edition rule is to instant death
lets say a carnifex is in range of a snypase creature(therefore immune to instant death)
and is getting shot at a lax cannon S-9 Ap-2
carnifex toughness is 6 and save of 2+
does instant death ignore penetrating hits to armor allowing the Fex to use his armor save????
Please if you could, use quotes from the book but if you are sure, then all help is helpful
ty for comments
Instant Death is on pg.26. I have heard nothing that would suggest ignoring instant death would effectively make your armour save an invulnerable save. Simply because the gun is powerful enough to destroy the creatures armour, regardless of whether the gun can kill the creature outright.
hope that all made sense.
Page 26 under "Instant Death":
"If a model suffers an unsaved wound from an attack that has a Strength value of double its Toughness or greater, it is killed outright and removed as a casualty."
What the process of this matter is:
Therefore, you make your save first, and THEN if the model fails, it is considered as 'removed all wounds' and taken away.
- Enemy Model rolls to hit
- Enemy Model rolls to wound
- If Enemy Model hit, Friendly Model makes a Save
- IF Friendly Model fails save, it is killed instantly if Attack Strength is double Toughness.
Besides, the Carnifex is Toughness 6, and there are not any weapons that can cause Instant Death to it based on comparison to Strength>Toughness, UNLESS specified by a special rule. And being under the influence of Synapse, it is immune to Instant Death anyway. So make sure you take lots of Synapse when you come up against a model with a Force Weapon... or maybe, you should stay away from it altogether and shoot it to death.
So, remember, the model makes it save FIRST, and then if it fails it is dead. A lax cannon cannot take it out, unless it has a special rule.
I think you were getting mixed up with the AP. Just because the Carnifex CANNOT make a save against the lax cannon, DOES NOT mean that it is instantly killed.
I hope that helps!
Light a fire for a man, and he will be warm for a night. Light a man on fire, and he will be warm for the rest of his life.
Is that like a Laxative cannon??? There aint no amount of armour that's going to save him there!!because the Carnifex CANNOT make a save against the lax cannon, DOES NOT mean that it is instantly killed
The only real thing that Synapse Range affects, (in realtion to rendering a Tyranid immune to ID) is Force Weapons. Now they only cause one wound, rather than causing instant death.
Last edited by Solo; November 27th, 2008 at 02:36.
But I call to God, and the LORD saves me.
Unless you're a Grey Knight
At which point I'm going to hostily disagree with you Affe. (that transport thing really was the stupidest thing the FAQ could have said)
But that is reserved for another thread at another time.
Dear Game Developer,Caps-Lock, its like cruise-control for AWESOMENESS!
Rock is cheese, Paper is just fine
WWP and other Dark Eldar how to
/shrug, if they're expected to play with 3 shot assault cannons and 50 point Rhinos, we can let the good things swing their way too.