Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Just looking for a clarification about tank shocking with a Wave Serpent that came up in a game I played this week. I'd be interested to know what your thoughts are on this:
Okies, so it was the last turn of the game and I needed to contest and objective to force a draw.
So I decided to tank shock my opponents Tactical Squad that was holding his objective. I had line of sight to two of the models in the unit and declared the number of inches I intended to travel.
The problem was that in order for my Wave Serpent to travel along the line I had declared for my tank shock I had to partially fly over an area of woodland.
At this point my opponent said that the tank shock had to be directly in a straight line and that by flying over the woodland this would prevent me from making the tank shock.
I have looked at the rulebook but can find anything that says I can't skim over intervening terrain whilst carrying out a tank shock but perhaps I am missing something?
In fact as a side point do I even require LOS to any of the units I intend to tank shock at the start of the movement phase?
So he says that because you had to move 'up' over the woods, you didn't travel in a straight line?
Well, skimmers technically don't hop over terrain, they ignore it entirely. So even if the skimmer ends up higher or lower than it started, that's not actually movement. Imagine moving 6" forwards at ground level and ending your turn atop a 48" building. Did you move 6", or 54"? The vertical movement is ignored.
In a similar vein, take a non-skimmer tank shocking over the crest of a hill or through a valley. The action is legal because the horizontal movement is a straight line. The vertical movement is irrelevant.
You have to keep in mind that the rulebook doesn't specify a three dimensional line. Your skimmer, or the tank driving over the hill, is travelling along a straight two dimensional line, even if it's not travelling straight in the third (vertical) dimension.
As to your side question, the answer is no, you don't need line of sight to anything. When tank shocking, you pick a direction and go. You don't have to target anything (heck, you could do it without even hitting an enemy unit, although there'd be no point).
This is from memory of course, so I could be mistaken about something (or everything). I'll double check later if no one's confirmed or denied my take on it.
Put the box on the table by the window in the kitchen.
From what I can see you are spot on here, no LOS of enemy contact is needed here as it is purely vehicle movement that forms a bullying technique.
And the movement description I couldn’t have put better myself!
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
Thanks guys for your thoughts on this!
Molgun and Wicky, I think you make a great points especially in the example of the non-skimmer vehicle tank-shocking over a hill. I'm pretty sure that nullifies his claim about the vertical movement invalidating the requirements for a tank shock to be carried out.
Why can't I think of examples like that during the game itself!! hehe
I'll put this to my opponent at our next gaming night and see what he says, I'll keep you informed as to how it goes down.
Wicky and Moglun covered this pretty well already, but if your opponent still disagrees for any reason, tell him to find you the rules requiring line of sight for a tank shock. Often in a rules disagreement when someone is making a silly argument, they'll back off when forced to justify it with actual text from the BRB. I hope you get it sorted out!
I will just be repeating what the others have stated so well, but with a page reference.
Under the title of Skimmers, sub title "Moving Skimmers":
"Skimmers can move over all terrain, ignoring all penalties for Difficult Terrain and tests for Dangerous Terrain."
Judging on this, we can prove that a Skimmer that is about to Tank Shock an opponent WILL be able to pass over terrain without any hitch, but a normal tank can't. Because the Wave Serpent is a Tank-Skimmer, it follows the rules for both, but because the model is represented as no part of it touching the actual ground but rather represented on anti-gravitic motors, then it just zooms right over it.
As for the second question, there is nothing under the Tank Shock entry that denies anything about LoS being used in Tank Shocking, so you just go straight towards them, making sure there is nothing else in the way, but the Vehicle MUST come into contact with at least one enemy model for the Tank Shock to be legal.
My 2 Cents.
Light a fire for a man, and he will be warm for a night. Light a man on fire, and he will be warm for the rest of his life.