Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
My apologies if this has been covered before...
Let me lay out the scenario for all of you. A model fires a Blast Template onto an enemy squad, that is in full compliance with the rules. The Scatter Dice and a D6 are rolled, and the Blast Template drifts over friendly and enemy models that are currently locked in close combat. There are, for example, 6 models on each side.
My question is:
If any of the models die under the effects of the Blast Template, do the amount of wounds lost and/or the models lost in accordance to Fearless Rules account for deciding which side wins a close combat when they fight eventually? There were 6 originally, 2 of my models and three of the enemy's die, the CC is fought, and 2 more from each side die. Are all of the deaths/wounds taken into account, or just the ones that were lost during the actual round of close combat?
On a side note, if the Blast Scatters using the scenario above, and so happens to go over a CC battle, and one side of the battle is killed, does this mean that the unit that survives gets to consolidate?
Much appreciated for any help.
Light a fire for a man, and he will be warm for a night. Light a man on fire, and he will be warm for the rest of his life.
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes
yeah, totally agree with what is said above. COMBAT resolution is called so for a reason, only wounds caused in COMBAT count towards it =D
Of course if it's the friendly unit that is left unengaged they would now no longer be locked in combat and could as such charge a different enemy unit (such as the original target of the blast marker) in the assault phase!
Another perfect example of this is the Tzeentch Daemon ability of Boon of Mutation. It's a shooting attack that is specifically allowed to be shot into close combat. As such, it can theoretically kill the last model in CC, resolving the combat.
No consolidation move can be taken, and because the unit wasn't free at the start of the shooting phase, it can't shoot either (that also means no running.) It can act as normal during the assault phase though, as it was free for the start of that phase.