Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Replace with "Ruins".
Leave them whole.
To the dice.
How do YOU treat wrecked buildings?
Do you leave them on the field, or leave them there as ruin?
Or do you replace it with another piece?
The complete answer is in the Rulebook, page 79. Under the heading Attacking Buildings, paragraph 4, last 5 lines.
Right, pretend for a minute that I HAD looked in it before I posted that,thank you for telling me to look in it again, it helped alot......
The real question should have been,
"How would you treat wrecked buildings in a tournament?"
Because the rulebook states that you can either treat it as a wrecked vehicle or replace it with another piece.
Especially if one person is shooting and the other has vehicles behind the building in question.
Well, I'm not world traveler who's played in dozens of GTs, but I attend a decent # of regional tournaments.
The number where there has ever been a single piece of spare terrain available that could be used to replace a wrecked building is exactly 0
One! I was more referring to just supply period. 5 pieces per table is pretty dense for a tournament! usually there's a couple tables at the end of the row stuck with like, two Citadel Hills and a big rock from the parking lot. If there were 'spare' wrecked buildings around, they would have gotten used setting up some other table
So for anyone who has been in a 5th Edition tournament, what happens when you WRECK A BUILDING?
In a tournament do you just leave the building exactly as it was, or MUST you replace it with another piece of terrain with that piece being a ruined piece?
Basically, if I hide say a Rhino behind a building and my opponent WRECKS the building, do we (A)leave the building as it is and my opponent cant shoot threw the building or do we ( replace the terrain with a ruin piece of terrain where then my opponent would be able to see the Rhino and thus get shots off?
What happenes at tournaments because the rule book says you can do either or, and it really matters which one you do.
"When Blood Speaks, Shadows Answer."
The quote is “The model is left in place and becomes a wreck,” (page 61) and “left on the table,” (page 62), so following all of this the physical state of the piece won’t change but the classing of it will.
This obviates the need for anything ‘extra’ in the terrain supply.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
Rules-wise, it does not matter whether the destroyed building is left in place and marked as destroyed or replaced with a ruined building piece of scenery.Originally Posted by Riptok
I would replace the building with a ruined building model for that specific building (so that the basic layout /foundation remains consistent).
Abuse of the selection of this ruined building (eg select a ruin which would allow LOS to a previously blocked model) would be up to peer review (IE ask everyone else if you think the ruin selected is fair) in friendly games. Keep in mind that is is perfectly valid for a ruin to change the LOS characteristics of the building, after all a fair chunk of the building would have just been obliterated.
In tournaments each of the above points (replace or not;replace with specific;arbitration of disputed replacements) would be governed by the tournament operators before hand or the appointed referees on the day.Destroyed buildings are treated as wrecked vehicles, but the rule book allows for the intact scenery piece to be replaced with a ruined piece is one is available. So the building (ie scenary piece, not the structure represented) is not necessarily left in place.Originally Posted by Wicky
I knew this would happen.
Does anyone know the answer from a tournament prespective?
Does this never come up for tournament for anyone?
"When Blood Speaks, Shadows Answer."