Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'm very new to this game and the rules so pardon the noobish questions.
So I noticed that Independent characters get the *Move through Cover bonus which means they can roll 3d6. So my question is.
1. Does this count towards the group/mob the model is with, or just the Indepedent character himself? (i.e. If I have a warboss and a group of Boyz, do I get to roll 3d6 to move through difficult terrain)
2. Secondly, if he has the Slow and Purposeful rule applied (ie, the same Warboss with MegaArmor) does he get to roll 3d6 since he's rolling "as if" he were moving through diff. Terrain, or does that not count unless he's ACTUALLY moving through the difficult terrain?
1: If he joins the unit the ability is lost. He moves as a normal member of the unit.
2: Yes, he can roll 3 dice.
Also note that your IC has Skilled rider as well, so if your ork biker squad + warboss biker are zipping through rubble, move the two seperatly so the IC is less likely to take a hit (since per pg 47 the skill is left out after joining).
In order to gain maximum benefit, would it be best to keep my Warboss seperate from the units/mob until I get close to combat? Otherwise, it seems like he would slow down the whole unit to difficult terrain dice and he would roll Only 2d6 for difficult terrain?
So, if I understand this correctly...
If he joins another Unit and has Megarmor (which causes Slow and Purposeful) then him and the unit will have to move at the highest of 2d6. And if even he doesn't have S&P, he will still only roll 2d6 when moving through diff. Terrain.
If he doesn't join, the unit moves as normal, and he can roll 3d6 instead of 2.
That being said, are there any particular strategies I should use with him when and/or before assaulting? Does being with a unit make him harder to hit and/or Target? Should he join right before going into assault mode or launching a Waaaaggghh! ?
Interesting, hadn't considered that implication for an Ork, but that is how it works on paper.
Of course, the simple solution, is put them in a battle wagon! If he's not in a unit, he can be targeted directly with shooting, so it is generally best to keep him in combat or surrounded by Boyz.
It was my understanding that an ork warboss with mega armor would roll 3D6. Mega armor movement = move through difficult terrain + IC ability to roll 3D6 when moving through said terrain.
Just remember that you need to end movement in proximity to a unit so that it cannot get shot to heck.
Rules for the IC movement are on BGB p.47 and p.48.
The relevant paragraph:An IC in the unit loses the skilled rider and Move through Cover special rules unless the unit itself has them. (Same goes for Fearless, etc.) So, as long as your Warboss is in a unit, he'll move at the speed of the slowest model. S&P counts as difficult terrain for the purposes of movement - this means you would get the Move through Cover if he's by himself.In order to join a unit, the Independent Character simply has to move within 2" coherency distance of a friendly unit at the end of thier Movement phase. If the character is within 2" of more than one unit at the end of its Movement phase, the player must declare which unit it is joining. If a character does not indent to (or cannot) join a unit, it must remain more than 2" away from it at the end of the Movement phase. This is to make clear to the opponent if a character has joined a unit or not. Note that after a character joins a unit, that unit may move no further that Movement phase.
As far as the benefit of sticking him in a unit - yes, it makes him slower, but if he's in a unit, he can't be targeted; rather, they'll have to shoot the rest of the unit as per shooting rules. Close combat is an exception to this, but for the purposes of getting him to your opponent, he's better off in a unit. (As long as he's by himself, he can be picked out solo.)
The last thing to note here is that ICs can join other units, but other units cannot join a solo-IC. This makes it impossible to do something such as moving a biker-boss by himself for the skilled rider rule, then having the other biker boyz move up behind him and have him rejoin their unit. (Or, similarly, move the boss through cover, then have another unit join him to screen him)
Last edited by SMann233; December 18th, 2008 at 18:27.
(i.e. Could they then leave him and move their regular movement, then he can roll 3d6 and try to get within Unit Coherency?) OR could he move first, then I can move the unit and hope they can get within 2" of him so they regain unit coherency?