Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hey quick question. When rolling for reserves, if say you have 3 units in reserve, do you roll 3 dice and however many you succeed with do you just pick what ever squad you want. Or on the contrary do you roll for each seperate one at a time? Thanks!
Under the heading of 'Reserves', sub-heading 'Rolling for Reserves':
"Once all of the units have been rolled for, the player picks any one of the units arriving and deploys it. Then they pick another unit and deploy it, and so on until all of the arriving units are on the table."
The way this works is, say you have a Transport, an Independent Character, a Monstrous Creature and an Infantry Squad left in reserve, and you are rolling for them at the present time. It is turn three, so you will need a 3+ to bring them in. You must roll for all four units, as per the rules, and the Independent Character, Monstrous Creature and Infantry Squad pass the reserves roll.
Now per your question, you roll for all of the Reserves at once, but you designate a die for each unit. You are able to deploy the units arriving in any order, but only the ones where their designated die passed the Reserves Test.
Hope this helps!
Light a fire for a man, and he will be warm for a night. Light a man on fire, and he will be warm for the rest of his life.
In other words, roll one die separately for each unit.
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes
You declare what unit you are rolling for example:"Elite squad 2".. or "warwalker squad"
Then you roll 1 die at a time, then proceed to the next one. After all your guys are rolled for, then you can select who goes where in whatever order. Playing it any other way is a shell game... " heeeeeeey do you feel lucky? pick a squad, any squad, any squad will do, just place yer bets..."
Armies thus far....
You have to declare who you are rolling for and roll for them separatley.
Currently play: 4000+ of Black Legion
Actually there is no ‘formal’ declaration in force but rather the rule of using one dice per reserve unit and how you do it doesn’t matter.
It could be that there are 3 units in reserve and so you can choose 3 different coloured/ sized/ marked or timed dice, the important thing here is that its ‘obvious’ to all which dice represents which unit.
So you do not get to match the dice to the unit after the roll, its done before it.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
Great, thanks for all the responses. That is how I thought it was but a few others felt differently. Anyways thanks again!