Flamers and cover question - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Member Weaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Maine
    Age
    46
    Posts
    190
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    Flamers and cover question

    I want to get some suggestions on this one before it comes up...

    My buddy plays Sisters. That means flamers and divine guidance. If I'm playing my Wolves, I'd like to hide them behind a Rhino to protect them from fire. I would think that a squad of Sisters on the other side of a Rhino would not be able to fire flamers through it. There are, however, two situations that might arise.
    1) Even though he has no line of sight to my unit behind the Rhino, he might try to flame them anyway. Is it possible to use flamers without line of sight?

    2) He might try to flame the Rhino, catching some of the troops behind it. Flamers deny cover, so he could claim to hit them, even though he's flaming through a solid object. To me, this would be like trying to flame through a solid wall, which ought to be impossible, but I'm not sure the rules wouldn't allow it. What do you think?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Hondor's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Alberta Canada
    Age
    31
    Posts
    442
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    48 (x1)

    1) Even though he has no line of sight to my unit behind the Rhino, he might try to flame them anyway. Is it possible to use flamers without line of sight?
    this he can't do you need LoS to use anything on somone

    2) He might try to flame the Rhino, catching some of the troops behind it. Flamers deny cover, so he could claim to hit them, even though he's flaming through a solid object. To me, this would be like trying to flame through a solid wall, which ought to be impossible, but I'm not sure the rules wouldn't allow it. What do you think?
    this he can do think of it as the flames breaking over and under the rhino catching models. maybe even heating the outside so the models on the other side get burnt. not sure but technicaly the 2nd option is legal.
    Painting: 20 quarrelers

  4. #3
    Suffer not the Unclean InquisitorAffe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Age
    36
    Posts
    2,251
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    381 (x8)

    The rule that prevented you from killing models you can't see is gone from 5E, so yes you can flame across Rhinos now. Note, if they can't see *any* of the target squad, they can't target it. The Rhino would be the target of the shot. In this case, the template must cover as much as possible of the vehicles hull. This will usually mean placing the template at a pretty steep angle to maximize coverage, not shooting it straight across to hit people on the far side. (Until he learns how to steer anyway.)

  5. #4
    Senior Member DarkKnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Age
    30
    Posts
    332
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    I think that's a tough one to deal with because theoretical it would be hard to say that shooting a flame on one side of a vehicle kills men on the opposite side. Maybe assume the flame went under the vehicle. I know this a rules help page but you might want to rethink deployment on your troops coming out of vehicles knowing he can do think. On the same token all bolter fire is going to be stopping by the Rhino.
    "Ah, but the truth is like an expensive whore, Jerek. She comes in many dresses and will bend over for any with the money to pamper her." ~ Konrad von Carstein

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts