Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
In a match played today by an ork player VS an Space Marine player, something occured to me, that changed that battle.
on page 34 of the rulebook, there are some charging constraints, one of importance is point 2, which states you have to charge models that aren't in base contact with an enemy model of the charging squad. (if I understood correctly).
picture the following situation:
a 30 man ork squad wants to charge the space marine player. There are 3 units available:
a 10 man Tactical Marines, 1 dreadnought, and a command squad with hero inside. All these units are within charging distance, and they all stand close together (about 5 inches between each other).
Following point 2, this would mean you can't choose to only charge the 10 man tactical squad, because you have to take the 20 other orks into base contact with new people. This would result into a combat with 30 orks pitting it our against the dread, and 20 space marines, if I understand the rules well.
If this is correct, picture the following.
Lets say it actually were about 15 orks, and because of terrain, after moving 11 orks into base contact with the command squad (10 marines +1 hero), 1 into contact with the Dreadnought, leaving 4 boys not yet moved. Using rule point #2, they have to move into base contact with the tactical marines, and because of this adding another 10 space marines to the scrapping. Meaning it could be that keeping coherency into account, 1 lousy ork would add 10 marines into the combat!!!!
Is this correct, or did I miss something?
I think you're confused my friend, while it is true you must engage unengaged models where possible, you get to choose what units you are assaulting. In the above example you could simply choose to charge the Orks at the Tactical Squad of Marines and you wouldn't have to contact the other units unless you felt like initiating multiple charges. Another side note, you said there were about 5" between units? You can't break coherency for a charge.
Blais's Paint Studio-Getting broken armies good soft scores since 2009
Xilconic, for a rules reference to what Mastershake is talking about, check out BRB pg. 33. Follow the Assault Phase Summary, and it will have you pick your charging unit and then declare which enemy unit(s) you want them to try and charge. With units declared beforehand, your movement into base contact is now restricted to those models only. Thus, you simply do not declare your assault against units you don't want to fight, and you won't have to move your Orks into base contact with them (in fact, you're no longer allowed to).
A phew, then I did indeed missed something
I already felt sorry for the ork player, who (although willingly ) charged a tactical squad with 1 ork, just to put them in combat too. It ended in a massive fight between 10 tactical marines with countercharge, 1 commandsquad of 5 men, with Cato Sicarius, 10 assault marines and 1 round later also those jump troop vets with power weapons against about 60 ork boys, 10 nobs in heavy armor and Gahzkull.
Was really fun to see !