Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Kind of new to 5th edition and I noticed something interested about saving throws. Both Armor, Invulnerable, and cover saves are under the section on "Take Saving Throws", thus I assume they are all considered to be "saving throws". (See page 20 of 5th edition rules)
Our group always assumed that the models could take any number of saving throws available. So if a model had an applicable armor save, an invulnerable save, and a cover save, they could roll against any wound using all three.
Well that all fell apart when someone noticed the section "Models With More Than One Save" on page 24.
"..the model only gets to make one saving throw, but it has the advantage of always uing the best available save."
So this would imply that a unit with armor, an invulnerable save, and in cover, would be able to choose only one of the three to use for the applied wounds, but cannot use them in series. In other words, if they best save for the model out of the three was the invulnerable save, then the model would use ONLY that one save.
That's how our group has interpreted the rules and it changed our game play. Certain HQ units are not quite as tough as they used to be.
For everyone here in the forum, is this how you run your games? Or is there another generally accepted interpretation of 5th edition rules?
Thanks for the help!
No, how you've described it there is correct, a model may only make one saving throw per wound suffered. That is how it is described, and I think thats how it has been for at the least the previous edition at least.
http://www.armyroster.com Check out my ToP WIP in the projects section!
Actually you always get to opt which save to use, but's it's quite stupid to opt for a 4+ cover save when you're armor is 3+, and even worse to opt to use your 3+ armor save against an AP3 weapon. Some weapons are capable of ignoring armor, Invulnerable or Cover saves, (in rare cases all three), so you just see which is the best you are actually able to use in a given situation.
Blais's Paint Studio-Getting broken armies good soft scores since 2009
Oh, god yes - only ever one save! (barring any special rules, of course...)
Characters like Lysander would be utterly un-killable if they got all three!!! A potential 2+/3+/3+ combined save would let in one wound for every... I dunno, probably every hundred saveable wounds suffered! Way beyond crazy.
*Smacks palm against forehead!*
Yes, only one save, but you get to choose the best available. This has not changed since 4th edition, and I doubt it has ever changed for WH40k.
For instance, a marine in 4+ cover will generally roll his 3+ armor save, and will only use the 4+ cover save against AP1, AP2 and AP3 weapons (for which he cannot take his armor save). But he will NEVER be able to use both saves. The only exception would be a special rule such as Feel No Pain or some such which allows a reroll of a failed save, but even this has some restrictions as detailed in the specific special rule.
-Thread Killer Bryan
Tyranid Hive Fleet Typhoeus
T'au Empire, Bork'an Sept
DJinni you are right on the money.
Thanks all for the clarification.
Yeah stacking of saves doesnt make a character invincible, but they are pretty close to it. A space marine captain is quite tough to take down with stacked saves, even against 20 orcs. We ran a few games where a solitary captain would push around entire units full of orcs. The terminators were nearly unstoppable by even several units of orcs with Nobs also in the mix. You couldnt win unless the entire orc force hit at exactly the same time. It just didnt seem right. Its a good thing someone went back through the rules.