Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
My question is, that if I give one of my sargeants in say, a firewarrior squad the blacksun filter (in nightfight he rolls 4D6x3 for sight range), then does the whole squad count as seeing the enemy just as long as the sarge can, or would the rest of the squad still only get the regular 2D6x3 sight range?
The rules say that if one person in the squad can see, then all of the people in the squad can see. All you have to worry about then, is the range of the weapons.
No, I'm pretty sure that it says somewhere in the Tau Codex that only the model with a Blacksun Filter can see the additional distance. I don't have a codex to hand though, so I'm not entirely sure.
You cannot win, for to fight us is to give us power.
Thank you nebulas. Yes, lastnight after I typed this topic up, I DID read that the blacksun filter only affects whether the sargeant can see, not the whole squad. Though this does seem dumb seeing as how it is basically saying that no one in the squad trusts the sargeant's knowledge of where the enemy is, rules are rules.
Look at it this way, Vindicare...
Just because the sergeant can see the enemy and points and says "they're over there" the rest of the squad still can't see them. It doesn't matter if they believe the sergeant or not, it's still darn near impossible to hit an enemy at long distance if you can't see them.