Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was curious about this instance that randomly popped up in my head.
Say there is Typhus and he is joined with a squad of plague marines. A daemon prince then comes in and has charge range to Typhus and Typhus alone. If he does not touch any of the plague marines, does the squad counter charge? This kinda got me because Typhus is an independent character who does not have a retinue. He is in combat, not the squad technically. I may have missed something somewhere...it was just a thought..
Nids 2500pts and Breeding!
Typhus is still part of the squad, even if his attacks and wound allocation are resolved separately. Pg. 49 "If a unit that has been joined by an independent character assaults into close combat, the character assaults too, as it is part of the unit." So even if you charged and only reached Typhus, the rest of the squad would still get a defenders react.
Deris87 has it correct. Regardless whether you charged Typhus or his unit, the whole gang would counter-attack you which would leave you with a choice or two as to what way you would be using your attacks.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
I agree with the above.
Typhus is ‘attached’ to the squad and the rules for all of this are on page 49 BRB under the heading of “Independent Characters and Assaults.”
(Start of the second paragraph.)
Last edited by Wicky; January 5th, 2009 at 02:29.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.