Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If the model is in the front arc, it's in the front arc. It doesn't matter if it can see other sides.
If your shooter can see the facing they are in, they must shoot at that facing. If all they can see is another facing, they may still shoot at the vehicle, but it gets a 3+ cover save (BRB bottom of page 62).
AHA, well that clears up alot.
You see the people I play with have read the rules like this
The model firing sees the vehicle. Is inside the front arc with LOS . BUT can also trace a line of sight to its side arc. They always fire into the side arc (since its usually lower AV). And due to this, I have found it almost IMPOSSIBLE to use the front armour against attacks....
But the proper way to do it (if im reading your answers right) would be to "extend" the lines that make up a tanks armour arc's until you can tell if a model is inside it or not?
Yes that sounds right. Theres a diagram in the rulebook showing how to draw LOS to the correct facing. (dont have a page ref as dont have it with me)
Currently play: 4000+ of Black Legion
It's on P.60.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
Looking at page 60, reading it over and over again, because I must be missing a vital part.
I cant find anywhere that it states that a model must resolve its shooting attacks versus the armour arc its located in. I can only find that the unit firing must be able to see the turret or hull. then roll to hit as normal.
The info on page 62 is in regards to cover. My example tank is not in cover. The firing unit can clearly see both front and side (but is inside the front "arc") , it does not state that a model MUST fire at the arc it is in (los or not)
So looking at the predator with the cross that explains armour facings, a model standing in the front arc, all the way to the right, or the left, would be able to draw a LOS to the side..
Thus a lascannon that is inside the front arc, but that can draw a los to the side, can fire at and resolve its attack versus side armour? Or am I really missing something?
Not arguing that you guys are wrong
But I need to find the cold hard text to convince my marine and tau friends. They are REALLY wrecking my poor imperial guard armour by shooting side armour all the time.
"Armour values for individual vehicles also vary depending on which facing of the vehicle the shot comes from"
Emphasis of course mine. The armor value used to resolve the attack is based on the origin of the shot. The only exception is the case noted on p62 where the originating arc is completely obscured by terrain or other models.
The universal counter argument "Oh yeah, prove it" is also in your favor on this one. There is no such rule anywhere that lets the firer choose which arc to shoot at. When you nominate a target, you say, "That tank." Not "the side of that tank." The AV to roll against is then determined using the rules on P60, which say you use the value for the arc that the shot originated in.
Even if he could choose to shoot the side armor. If he is not in the side arc, your tank get's a 3+ cover save for hitting at such an extreme angle. I almost would prefer my opponents did that.