Gate of infinity and Combat - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29
  1. #1
    Ang
    Ang is offline
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Age
    32
    Posts
    125
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    39 (x1)

    Gate of infinity and Combat

    This has come up on another forum, and i couldn't find it in a search here. So i was wondering what LO's opinion on the matter is.

    Can you use gate of infinity to escape with a unit when you are locked in combat. Some people are trying to say they can, but i just don't think it works.

    Thoughts ?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    The ORIGINAL Sniper Puss eiglepulper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Age
    57
    Posts
    2,841
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    596 (x8)

    It does not specifically state that this is an option. We have at least two other examples of this sort of thing: the Necron Lord's Veil of Darkness and the 13th Company Rune Priest's The Gate. Both of these specifically state that the power/ability may be used to take the unit out of combat.

    It's only my opinion, but because the Gate of Infinity power does *not* have the specified permission then I would say it cannot be used to pull units out of CC.

    E.
    "Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"

  4. #3
    Senior Member SMann233's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Age
    31
    Posts
    319
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    73 (x1)

    Total agreement with eiglepulper, for the reasons specified. Even the Necron Monolith's ability states that it can pull units from combat. I would say that those are extra factors of the three stated abilities, and because GoI doesn't have them listed, it's simply not possible.

    Close combat prevents your movement during the movement phase. Because there's no override to this general rule in GoI's listing, that general rule still stands. All GoI allows is for you to Deep Strike within a limited distance instead of moving normally.

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    472
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    53 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by SMann233 View Post
    Total agreement with eiglepulper, for the reasons specified. Even the Necron Monolith's ability states that it can pull units from combat. I would say that those are extra factors of the three stated abilities, and because GoI doesn't have them listed, it's simply not possible.

    Close combat prevents your movement during the movement phase. Because there's no override to this general rule in GoI's listing, that general rule still stands. All GoI allows is for you to Deep Strike within a limited distance instead of moving normally.
    this is another of the all time wonderfully thought out problems of conflict of editions, the necron codex is not an up to date printing so the wording is not a good definitive ruling, on how an updated codex (albeit the first of the new editions) is to be ruled upon.
    if when you want to use the power, you meet all the prerequisites to use it, its effect is then calculated. in this instance you deep strike.
    so the question shouldn't be "can it remove you from combat" the question should be "can you use the power while locked in combat?"
    Dear Game Designer,
    Rock is Cheese. Paper is fine.
    Signed,
    Scissors

  6. #5
    The ORIGINAL Sniper Puss eiglepulper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Age
    57
    Posts
    2,841
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    596 (x8)

    if when you want to use the power, you meet all the prerequisites to use it, its effect is then calculated. in this instance you deep strike.
    so the question shouldn't be "can it remove you from combat" the question should be "can you use the power while locked in combat?"
    In this instance yes you could *use* it because it is not an "instead of shooting" psychic power. Just because you can actually *use* the power though: does that fact automatically then allow you to remove those models which are in CC and place them elsewhere?

    E.
    "Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    454
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    61 (x0)

    Quote Originally Posted by eiglepulper View Post
    Just because you can actually *use* the power though: does that fact automatically then allow you to remove those models which are in CC and place them elsewhere?
    Given that the effect of the power is to allow you to immediately deep strike elsewhere, then yes. I've always seen it generally held that psychic powers that are not shooting attacks can be used in close combat, and I don't see why GoI would be any different. There's a precedent set elsewhere With Swooping Hawk's Skyleap ability, VoD, or the Shard of the Voidweaver apoc formation that would suggest it's okay for abilities and psychic powers to remove you from combat outside the usual means.

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    SLC, UT
    Age
    37
    Posts
    1,059
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    108 (x4)

    But every power you listed states that they can be used to get the unit out of combat, they even go so far as to say what the enemy gets to do when they leave ( at least skyleap does have not checked VoD yet ), there is nothing saying GoI gets to pull units from combat or what the enemy does.

  9. #8
    Member Aracor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    160
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    14 (x1)

    You cannot move while locked in combat unless explicitly stated otherwise. This includes teleporting, retreating, even a random battle cannon shot killing everything in base to base in a combat.

    Since the gate of infinity is movement, and it doesn't say you can escape close combat with it, you cannot.

  10. #9
    Airborne Mastershake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,664
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    479 (x8)

    Ahem, gate of infinity is, in point of fact, not movement, it is a psychic power and entirely seperate from normal movement. There is nothing in the power to prevent it from being used while locked in combat, and the unit doesn't "move out of combat" it is removed from the table.

    If it was used instead of shooting like many other powers, my vote would be no. But nothing stops him from using this ability while locked.

    As for the "other codices" arguement, what do stormshields do for every army but vanilla marines? Codices are completely seperate from each other.

    My vote is pretty clear, if the situation allows you to use a psychic power, you can and get it to full effect.
    Blais's Paint Studio-Getting broken armies good soft scores since 2009

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    472
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    53 (x1)

    Oi there mr shake, hope your move went well
    Quote Originally Posted by Aracor View Post
    Since the gate of infinity is movement, and it doesn't say you can escape close combat with it, you cannot.
    it is not the movement action. and it therefore allowed.
    Dear Game Designer,
    Rock is Cheese. Paper is fine.
    Signed,
    Scissors

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts