Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I watched a game last night in which several questions came up, and here they are.
Removing Models in a Complex Unit:
There was a unit of 4 Mega-Armored Nobs (all customized differently) with a warboss attached where 1 Mega-Armored Nob currently had a wound. Assuming the unit suffered 3 more unsaved wounds would the player have to remove the Nob with the wound, or assign each wound before making the saves and distribute the wounds properly. Essentially I'm asking about pg. 25-26 ( BRB ) concerning a Complex Unit with Multiple-Wound Models.
If an independent character is in a unit that is falling back and below half strength can he leave? If so, does he need to take a morale check before he can?
If a unit has killed an enemy unit during the shooting phase are they allowed to assault a different unit in the assault phase?
Thank you for your time.
Last edited by Skythron; January 8th, 2009 at 15:26.
The only one I can answer for sure is the third question.
If you shoot at a unit and completely obliterate it, you are not able to assault another unit.
1.) If the nobs were all differently equipped, you could apply wounds to the other nobs or warboss before having to take put it on the already wounded nob. The rule requiring you to remove wounded models first is only in groups of similarly equipped models.
2.) Unfortunately not, and that's one of the risks you face by putting an independent character in a squad. He's part of the squad and he's along for the ride.
3.) Nope, you can only ever assault the unit you shot, so if you kill that squad you can't make a charge.
Thank you all for your help, it is greatly appreciated.
im going to just jump in here to try and get a more definitive answer to a question i posed in the eldar forum.
if 2 independant charcters are attached to the same squad. and the squad is completly destroyed apart from the ICS - in combat, the ICS then fail leadership and run. can they regroup and do they re-group?
i have assumed yes so far, as models which are normally fielded as units of 1 are not allowed to form a unit.
That's a tricky one, as in 5th Ed on P.48, last sentence of paragraph 1 it tells us that ICs can indeed join other ICs to make a powerful multi-character unit.
Concerning the unit which has been destroyed and to which they were recently attached: they only remain members of that unit until the result of the Morale Check is known. If they fail it, then they fall back but in the next turn they would normally revert to IC status.
However, it was the now-destroyed unit which they both joined originally. They did not join each other as a multi-IC unit, so IMO they are now effectively two separate ICs again.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
I would say that the 2 ICs would remain as a single unit, testing on the higher Ld value of the 2.
The o9nly way to leave a unit is for the rest of the unit to be destroyed or to walk more than 2" away from the rest of the unit in your movement phase. If your falling back, you cannot choose to move 2" away.
the point to argue is this:
Do the 2 ICs count as being below 50% (as the original unit they were part of is now destroyed)
Or do they count as a new unit of 2 models?
I would go with the latter, thus allowing them to regroup next turn and split up if desired.
Arch Overfiend & Grand Despot
I currently play:
Doom Eagle Space Marines
Hive Fleet Omega Tyranids
Goff Ork Boyz(dead)
Tau of O'me
Inquisitorial Xeno Hunters
and my attempted foray into fantasy
'Dark Angel Green' Dark Elves in need of fluff