Single 'grenade' wielding captain and unit charge into cover - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Senior Member Xilconic's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Age
    31
    Posts
    534
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    31 (x2)

    Single 'grenade' wielding captain and unit charge into cover

    I read this in http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...ml#post1333619

    "Are you certain about that? I was reading the rules for grenades and assaulting in cover and it seemed that once battle started the benefits of cover on initiative were lost. So in other words you have a BL with Hooks and his retinue without. The 'Lord assaults in cover, negates the bonus, and starts the battle on his I7. Since combat has begun with the Marines and they had their moment to (fluff wise) "hunker down" and save versus hits from the Broodlord, the 'Stealers would actually go next on their I6 followed by Marines on I4."

    I was wondering if this was right or not, or what some of you think about it. A revelation for some units, or any attempt on Munchkin-ism?

    Tyranids Win [31]/ Draw [0]/Lost [0]
    Daemon Hunters Win [17]/ Draw [2]/ Lost [1]
    http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...t&uniqueid=232

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Son of LO psichotykwyrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Panama City Beach, Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    443 (x8)

    I think that the phrase "once battle has started" is a confusion with the fact that grenades/cover mean nothing in an ongoing combat.

    Only models equipped with assault grenades (or equivalent) will benefit from them. Period.

    So in the BL + Retinue example, the BL with the hooks will attack on his initiative; his Genestealer cohorts will be reduced to initiative 1 for that charge.
    "It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
    ---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes

  4. #3
    Ender of Threads Wraith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,306
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    256 (x5)

    Yeah, that's really not the best way it could be worded... Read that 'once the battle has started' bit as meaning anything after the first full round of combat.

    The guy with the grenades is just fine, but his buddies are stuck with the penalty.
    We've got plenty of youth... How about a fountain of smart?


  5. #4
    Senior Member Xilconic's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Age
    31
    Posts
    534
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    31 (x2)

    Yeah, I already though so. Thanks for the confirmation!
    Tyranids Win [31]/ Draw [0]/Lost [0]
    Daemon Hunters Win [17]/ Draw [2]/ Lost [1]
    http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...t&uniqueid=232

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts