Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Seems like a simple question, but something doesn't make sense.
Regular Terminators in a Terminator Squad all come with powerfists, and can only be switched for chainfists, but the Terminator profile states has an initiative greater than 1.
(I know the Sgt has a p.sword but he also has his own profile)
Wouldn't they always have an initiative of 1 due to the powerfist rule? They can't sweeping advance so having it for that doesn make anysense, unless the only reason its there is if they lose a combat, but even then they aren't swept.
Maybe I'm just hopeful, that they can swing at their own initiative one day.
The PFist only makes you I1 for determining the order of attacks. There are assorted other times when the I stat is used for other purposes (look at the Hit & Run special rule) where Terminators would use their I stat. Plus there's always Lightning Claw terminators.
In 4th Ed you were allowed to 'turn off' your power fist and just hit people upside the head with your stormbolter at base Initiative. 5E now requires you to always use the power fist =(.
ThanX I figured. I saw the other profiles in the codex under the assault terms, they all seem to be copy pasted anyway.
Copy-pasted is more or less true, but yeah - it's used for other purposes as well. I can't think of anything that requires Inititaitve checks in 40K atm, but they're kinda common in Fantasy - it's entirely possible one army will come up with something in the future, in which case they need to actually have a stat worth having.