Shooting and Running - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Member Sorrowsky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    170
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    12 (x1)

    Shooting and Running

    Hello LO, help me with this rule and tactic i'm going to pull off during my next game and wanting to know if it is viable

    During my shooting phase, i have say a hellhound 4 inches apart from an infantry squad. During the phase my hellhound has an open view of an enemy unit and decides to shoot its inferno cannon. Afterwards i claim my infantry squad to run having say a result of 4+ (in this case lets say 6) and i move them a max of 6 inches and place it in front of the hellhound, causing it to be obsured. Is this a viable tactic and can i use it or am i doing something illegal?

    -Sorrowsky


    "DID WE JUST SIGN UP FOR A SUICIDE MISSION, RICO?" "YEAH WE JUST DID, WHEN WE ENLISTED" LOVE THE IMPERIAL GUARD, JOIN TODAY!!

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    LO Zealot magnet_man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Age
    37
    Posts
    1,330
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    126 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by Sorrowsky View Post
    Hello LO, help me with this rule and tactic i'm going to pull off during my next game and wanting to know if it is viable

    During my shooting phase, i have say a hellhound 4 inches apart from an infantry squad. During the phase my hellhound has an open view of an enemy unit and decides to shoot its inferno cannon. Afterwards i claim my infantry squad to run having say a result of 4+ (in this case lets say 6) and i move them a max of 6 inches and place it in front of the hellhound, causing it to be obsured. Is this a viable tactic and can i use it or am i doing something illegal?

    -Sorrowsky
    Assuming the models are tall enough to hide 50% of the vehicle, then yes this is perfectly fine and a valid strategy.
    Tim Wright

    "The internet perceives censorship as damage, and routes around it."
    -John Gilmore

  4. #3
    Senior Member Hondor's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Alberta Canada
    Age
    31
    Posts
    442
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    48 (x1)

    as you declare each action and then resolve it there is nothing wrong with this only way for it to work however is as he said if your models cover over 50% of the model ( i don't think an IG squad would work but a unit of Ogryn would)
    Painting: 20 quarrelers

  5. #4
    Senior Member SMann233's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Age
    31
    Posts
    319
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    73 (x1)

    There's nothing wrong with this, and it's a fine tactic for normal tanks in general.

    That said, what's the point of doing this with a Hellhound's Inferno cannon? You can never get cover saves from a template weapon attack.

  6. #5
    Dark Eldar Gerbil Splata's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Age
    33
    Posts
    1,522
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    159 (x5)

    Actually I find it hard to believe that a squad of units in front of a tank would ever block los from a turret mounted cannon to another squad. This said, Perfectly valid tactic. But it is very tauwardly (cowardly) of you and the imperial war machine
    Caps-Lock, its like cruise-control for AWESOMENESS!
    Dear Game Developer,
    Rock is cheese, Paper is just fine
    Signed Scissors.

    WWP and other Dark Eldar how to
    http://forums.relicnews.com/showthread.php?t=149386

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    454
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    61 (x0)

    Just to jump on the bandwagon, everything you said sounds perfectly legal though I'm dubious that a squad of IG would be enough to cover 50% of the facing on a hellhound.

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    472
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    53 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Deris87 View Post
    I'm dubious that a squad of IG would be enough to cover 50% of the facing on a hellhound.
    1" infantry
    2" vehicle
    1:2 = 50%
    Dear Game Designer,
    Rock is Cheese. Paper is fine.
    Signed,
    Scissors

  9. #8
    Suffer not the Unclean InquisitorAffe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Age
    36
    Posts
    2,251
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    381 (x8)

    perhaps if the guardsmen were all 400 pounds and had Napoleon Hats on.....

  10. #9
    UnderWater Ninja-Tiger .. Xpyre35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Age
    41
    Posts
    785
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    147 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by DJinni View Post
    1" infantry
    2" vehicle
    1:2 = 50%
    True, however even base to base IG infantry aren't wide enough to completely cover the lower 1" of the vehicle.

    So,

    1" infantry
    2" high vehicle

    Still can see parts of the 1" (lower half of the vehicle).

    Therefore, (less than 1):2 = >50%, no cover save.

  11. #10
    Scourge Lord Krovin-Rezh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    1,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    204 (x6)

    Vehicles can't use intervening models like area terrain. They must use true LOS for being 50% obscured. However, you can simply get some cover from infantry and claim cover with a -1 modifier for a 5+ save.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts