Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
pg 93 Ork 'Dex - ....A vehicle with a reinforced ram can Tank Shock, and treats its front armour as two higher than normal when resolving Death or Glory attacks.... (my emphasis)
Although it seems clear, I've had experience with a trukk ramming a razorback, with a reinforced ram. Taking this +2 armor bonus as its front armour.
The way the rule is written I would assume the ork vehicle only gains the armor bonus if its Tank Shocking some infantry and a member of the target unit attemps to perform Death or Glory against the trukks profile front AV +2.
Not if a trukk uses Ramming against another vehicle. to gain the STR bonus.
Last edited by Xpyre35; January 15th, 2009 at 20:55.
Unfortunately you are correct, the Trukk does NOT get the +2 when Ramming, despite many of us Ork players thinking that it should have been included in the FAQ
Agreed with Monkeyclops, does't apply to ramming. If it said "+2 for the purposes of tank shocking" then that might be valid, but it specifically says DoG which is not relevant to ramming.
Plus the fact that trukks cannot ram, as ramming is a seperate rule to tank shocking, despite being very similar.
That's a murky issue, as ramming is a form of tank shock. The DE have a similar situation, but their FAQ ruled that they couldn't ram even though they could tank shock. That said, barring a specific prohibition in the FAQ or codex entry, theres nothing in the rules that prevents them from ramming. Ramming is a tank shock, so if they can tank shock they can ram. And come on, it's got "ram" right in the name!
I know, but its under a seperate heading and is under the main heading of tanks. As ridiculous as it seems, I personally believe that RAW it cannot ram. I know it seems ridiculous but thats how it is.
A Reinforced Ram allows a Trukk to Tank Shock
Ramming is a form of Tank Shock
Therefor Trukks can Ram
By RAW, Ramming is a special form on Tank Shock, it is NOT seperate, it is in fact a Tank Shock. Therefor anything that can Tank Shock can also Ram. Again, this is going by RAW that Ramming is a form of Tank Shock, it doesn't matter where in the rulebook it is listed, it is stated as a form of Tank Shock.
Tankshock is a movement based attack against non vehicles.
Ramming is a movement based attack and a subset of Tankshock against vehicles.
And I agree that anything that can Tankshock can also Ram as the qualifier of being a ‘Tank’ (or a rule that enables similar) is all that is needed to satisfy the claiming of both theses abilities.
And the act of being a ‘Tank’ with ramming adds the extra bonus of ‘Mass’ and this is a variable only on the defensive side of the attack.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.