Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
ok guys, here is my question: i have some terminators with a dedicated land raider in my list. if they come from reserves, can i decide to put some berzerkers in the raider beforehand, and roll for the termies and if they become available, deepstrike or move in the termies as normal and the land raider at the same time over the board edge?
Can a land raider be bought as a dedicated transport? If so, then it must be deployed carrying the squad it is dedicated to as per the dedicated transport rules on page 67 of the BGB. If not, then it can start the game carrying any legal infantry unit. As for the rest of your question, what exactly do you intend to keep in reserve?
No, and there's a few reasons why. I don't have my book handy but I'll get you some page numbers when I get home.
1.) Dedicated transports may only begin play with the unit they were bought for embarked, so in the case of the LR here the termies are the only unit that can start in it. That said, you could start the LR empty and at the first chance have your zerkers jump in it.
2.) If the termies are not embarked on the LR and both are placed into reserve, you would roll for the two units separately. The only time you roll for two units at once is when a squad is embarked on a transport and placed into reserves together.
Deris87 has it right.
Additionally, at the start of the game, I believe you would have to declare if your terminators are Deep Striking or moving in from the board edge. I think its frowned upon to determine that on the fly.
so if i let all of them move over the board edge, i can drive up the empty land raider with an access point in rougthly 8"(6" for the berzerkers movement + 2" distance to the hatch to embark) distance to the board edge and then let the zerkers jump in with their move? that is only if they become available at the same time or all enter in my first turn like in the dawn of war setting.
can i deep strike the termies if i keep the unit in reserve and drive in the raider from the board edge? since they don't have to be put on the table in the same spot, just at the same time, that should be possible. just not with the berzerkers embarked. they'd have to jump in with their movement or later on.
You wouldn't really be able to go a full 8" in, but yes you could do that, assuming they all arrive on the same turn. The 'zerkers have to all move, and all be within 2", then get in. They don't run up and hop in one at a time.
You can keep both the terminators and 'raider in reserve and deep strike the termies. But you must declare you are doing so at deployment time and there will be separate rolls for the unit and tank.
Well, first of all, chaos terminators cannot have a land raider as a dedicated transport. A land raider can only be bought as heavy support.
Now, since as heavy support it's not dedicated, you can feel free to have any squad begin the game embarked in it, up to the maximum models allowed.