Centaur force organization issue - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ZMB
    ZMB is offline
    Member ZMB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    464
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    55 (x1)

    Centaur force organization issue

    I was reading through the siege of Vraks the other day and say that the Centaur vehicle is listed in the troop section and is only a transport if taken with artillery or grenadiers. If taken by its self does it take up a troop slot and therefore can claim objectives? Also, vehicles are in fact their own unit, so if taken as a transport would they still count as a troop unit?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Airborne Mastershake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,664
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    479 (x8)

    Negative on both counts, vehicles are never scoring even if they are troops (consult pg. 90 of the rulebook). Additionally, if it's bought as a dedicated transport it isn't applied to any force org slot (ref pg. 67 of the rulebook)
    Blais's Paint Studio-Getting broken armies good soft scores since 2009

  4. #3
    jy2
    jy2 is offline
    Hive Fleet Pandora jy2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    5,068
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputation
    797 (x8)

    What if you play an armored company in which the army is composed of almost all tanks. Then would your troop tanks be able to take objectives? Being maybe 3rd ed., is an armored company even legal nowadays in tournament play?

  5. #4
    Airborne Mastershake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,664
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    479 (x8)

    Answer is still no, the rule is pretty unambiguos that vehicles aren't scoring. Means the best you can do on objective missions is a draw unless you can table your opponent.

    It is legal as far as I know, but it has serious issues, the previously mentioned deficiency not being the least of them.
    Blais's Paint Studio-Getting broken armies good soft scores since 2009

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    472
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    53 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Mastershake View Post
    Answer is still no, the rule is pretty unambiguos that vehicles aren't scoring. Means the best you can do on objective missions is a draw unless you can table your opponent.

    It is legal as far as I know, but it has serious issues, the previously mentioned deficiency not being the least of them.
    Just popping on to point out Mr Shake is correct as usual.
    and just to add 'Ard boys in San antonio for the first round had an Armored company list show up and due to the 'Ard boyz not allowing house rules, they had to follow rule vehicles unable to claim objectives.
    Dear Game Designer,
    Rock is Cheese. Paper is fine.
    Signed,
    Scissors

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts