Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Apologizeif this has been said but i can't seem to get the search to work for me. OK so I'm making a looted wagon with a Scorcha on it. My Looted wagon is a rhino with a few modifications and I'm putting the scorcha as a turret on the top. now my question.
when i'm placing the template do i put it's but end against the gun it'self or the vehical's hull?
under templates pg 29
"place the template so that it's narrow end is touching the base of the model firing it... without touching any friendly models"
under vehicals pg 56
" when firing a vehical weapons ranges are measured from the muzzle of the firing weapon"
a) from muzzle, this means that no matter where it's placed the template will hit part of my vehical which is a friendly unit (and as it's a troop transport has models in it possibly) so wouldn't be able to fire.
b) from the "base of the model" well my vehical has no base so we'll say hull, so it can fire anywhere from the hull in any direction to hit as many models as possible (can so see this getting abused)
c) from the hull BUT in a line from the turret that fired it. so it's like the turret fires a stream of burning liquid which hits the ground and fans out into the template.
not sure what to use so kinda looking for suggestions
Painting: 20 quarrelers
There isn't really a conclusive answer. (A) is the only way in my experience it's played. It's tough to argue that it's *less* of an infraction to substitute 'anywhere on the hull' for 'base' than to simply allow it to overlap the model actually doing the firing. It also favors the infract-or less.
a) doesn't really make sense. Why have a turreted flamer when it can't be used?
The best thing to do is talk to your opponent beforehand (or check with the judges if in an "official" game) and come up with a "houserule" regarding how it is used. As long as you both agree, then there shouldn't be a problem. If you both can't agree, then roll for it.
Going from the turret does make sense. The template is not touching any friendly models if it is only hitting itself. The same thing actually occurs with infantry using flamers as well. By the rules, the template is placed so that it is touching the firer's base, but it is assumed that he is not hit by his own weapon in that case. Thus it is that the looted wagon is assumed not to be hit.