Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
The rules states that you cannot shoot at an IC if he is within certain range of friendly models.
Does this still count if these friendly models are out of LOS of the enemy?
ie: stick some troops behind some cover, and have a shooty IC in the open shooting at the enemy - and they can't shoot back
Yes the character can still be shot at. He must be within 6 inchs of a VIABLE target to not be shot at. If the other unit cannot be shot at then he is not within 6 inchs of a viable target
That is why you'll see stuff like landspeeder sniping and stuff as they put the landspeeders, vyper, etc out of los of every other unit except the character
Even if 1 model is visible tho the character cant be shot at. My advice is to just not keep the character up front to avoid sniping
Casualties from a unit must be taken from a legal target no mater what the situation. So the same goes for a squad of devastators with just its heavy weapons exposed at the top of a hill or something, and the rest of the unit out of site, the only casualties would have to be taken from the troopers that are exposed.
In other words Kirasu is right.
actually, as third addition is concerned, you can snipe a IC even if other guys are around!
Check out the first paragraph of "Shooting At and By Characters" on page 75 of the BBB. It is punishment for those guys who like to have their 200 + point lord or general charge and lead the pack! My friend uses dark eldar jet bike squads with two blasters to zip up to a squad and pump two instant kill shots into whatever commander likes to be on the outside of the squad he joined!!!!
I don't know how this might change in the fourth addition, but this loop hole makes sense to keep!
Still says you cant shoot at him if he is within 6. Dont know what you are getting at here.
umm, i dunno. maybe where it says "OR". so if the IC is the closest model in the group to a guy with a melta gun, he can be shot.
so if an IC is 7" from a group, you can pick him out.
if an IC is attached to a group (i.e. within six inches), but is on the outside of the mob, you can still shoot him if your opponent put him closest to your man with a big, bad, IC-killing gun.
What this rule is trying to say is that a simple IG trooper wouldn't be able to pick out the powerful Ork Warboss in a huge (or 'uge) mob from a considerable distance. But once that mob gets within a closer distance, the IC warboss would become a little distictive and threatening, especially if he was THE closest ork to the troopers, with no grots or nobs to pull in front of him to stop the lascannon blast.
Sheesh, talk about being vague and generally unproductive
Yes its 6 inchs of another viable target or the closest model within 12 inchs of the shooter.. Melta gun, bolter, whatever if its within 12 inchs and hes the closest then he can be picked out
Again, my advice to solve *both* of these problems is put another guy first
Yes, if you are within 12 inches. And if he is part of the mob, he can just put him right in the middle of it, not in front, so now he cant be shot at.
So if you have an IC within 6 of a vehicle (so long as the vehicle isn't destroyed), then you can't shoot at him?
I dont think vehicles count. Viable target units, so I am assuming that you need some type of troop, not tanks.