Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Alright so I have two questions relating to the Eldar psychic power Eldrich storm.
First is it a "Shooting Attack"
On one hand it is used in the shooting phase and causes wounds. But on the other they seem to spell out what a shooting attack is on page 50 and Eldrich Storm definitly doesn't conform to that as at the least it explicitly doesn't require line of sight.
The reason this is important is that psychic powers that are shooting attacks require a fire point, while from the FAQ psychic powers that are not can be used without a fire point. It seems like it should be useable without a fire point as it doesn't require line of sight, but I thought I should ask.
Second. Does it scatter? It's using that big template which usually scatters. But it doesn't say anything about that at all, and I think they're trying to be pretty explicit and straightforward in that section.
The Eldar FAQ says that ES is a shooting attack.
Does it scatter? Well, the general consensus for template/marker weapons in 5th Ed is that they scatter, but maybe a better-informed person could help you with that one regarding ES.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
Pg. 50 of the Eldar dex says "Unless otherwise noted, these powers... do not require the Eldar psyker to have line of sight to the target." Like you already mentioned, Eldritch Storm doesn't specifically state requiring line of sight. Though if you look at Mind War, which is also a shooting attack, it does specifically require you to have line of sight. Based off that, I'd be inclined to say that yes, you can use ES without line of sight. It seems that this specific instane of "does not require line of sight" is meant to supercede the general shooting rules.
1) Is Eldritch Storm a psychic shooting attack? Yes, as stated above this is clarified in the Eldar FAQ.
2) Does Eldritch Storm require LOS? I would say no, I agree with Deris87 that the entry in the Eldar codex on p.28 supersedes the general rule that LOS is required for shooting.
Primary Army: Tyranids; Secondary Army: Space Wolves
It's Illeagle, but it' s not that illeagle. - John Public
Eldritch Storm does not require LOS, what it does require is being able to shoot,
no firepoints = no shooting.
and yes, i always scatter my ES
In aggreeance with farseer matt here, you need a firepoint in orer for it to be used.
btw how do you use your fortune matt? can it be used from a vehicle if you don't have a fire point (like all eldar vehicles)?
Dear Game Developer,Caps-Lock, its like cruise-control for AWESOMENESS!
Rock is cheese, Paper is just fine
WWP and other Dark Eldar how to
To add slightly to what's already been said:
The ES definitely scatters. It's profile indicates that it is a (large) blast weapon, and all blast weapons scatter.
Put the box on the table by the window in the kitchen.
i think alot of aspects of this game are silly and ES scattering is one of them, you are already rolling to use a power you know exactly where its going so i think that as long as you pass the test that should count as a hit... but thats not the way it is
but you can just as easily say that its silly that you expect ES not to scatter despite the fact that every other blast template does scatter.
But if you want something truly silly, the shokk attack gun teleports squigs at you... the best weapon since incindiery pigs!
Most Notable Achievements:
Killed a Revenant Titan in one shot.
Killed 900 pts worth of Blood Angels in 2 turns while only loosing 4 pts.
I would sat that ES does not scatter. Blast weapons scatter instead of rolling to hit, according to the rules. Psychic powers do not have to roll to hit, therefor they do not have to scatter.