Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I am relatively new to 40K and have several questions.
is stormbolters considered a single handed weapon for a +1A during close combat?
this questions really relates to HQ and elites which can upgrade their bolters to stormbolters. Terminators whom can field stormbolters only hold it by one hand, and the power fist does not grant an extra attack for a non PF second close combat weapon - thus it is unclear if the stormbolter confers it).
It also make sence that the stormbolter is a single handed weapon as if the terminator chooses to grasp it by his powerfist, it will likely be crushed.
i understand that boltgun were depicted by heros to be fired singlehandedly and does not count as a single handed weapon. this kind of can be fluffylized with the small magazine the boltgun have and therefore the constant changing of mags will occupy both hands of the user while stormbolters have drum-high capacity magazines and does not need to be worked.
thus i am not too clear on this one.
since marines are armed with a boltgun and a bolt pistol, does it mean that if the enemy is within 6", i can choose to use the boltgun and rapid fire 2 shots or pistol onces then assault with a total of 2 attacks per marine due to charging into an assault?
when the rule book say that units cannot regroup after being lower than half strength, is the half strength calculated from the deployed unit size or the combat size?
i guese this is more relavent to horde armies, like orks.
so for example, if a 30 boyz mob looses 20 boyz, and the mob become fearful, do they run away instantly as they are less than 1/2 strength or do the half strength get calculated from the moment they lose fearless?
Hey there lezt,
I'll do my best to jump in here - some one will step in and correct me where I am wrong
Regarding the powerfist, the rule is "+1 attack for an extra close combat weapon". When you have a Stormbolter and CCW, you will receive the +1 attack. When you upgrade to the Powerfist, you are upgrading (replacing) your CCW. You then oblige to the Powerfist rule, that being, it does NOT count as a 2nd CCW, unless you have a pair of them. So no - you will not gain a +1 attack with that unit.
Point 2 - remember, you can't shoot Rapid Fire weapons at all and charge. Not once at 24" or twice at 12" - as soon as you use Rapid Fire weapons - you can't assault. You can fire you pistol once however, as it is "considered" an Assault 1 Weapon.
Point 3 - In general terms, deployment size. Once a unit is below half of it's starting strength. This is at the start of the game, rather than the start of the turn. Not sure about the case with Orks though sorry.
I hope this helps
Storm Bolters count as two handed weapons so you can't get an extra attack from them. An exception to this is Grey knights who have a special rule that lets them take an extra attack.
Everyone is entitled to their own opinion. It's just that yours is stupid.
1) You don't get an extra attack for wielding a stormbolter, regardless of armour.
The only exception to this would be a grey knight, who must be in power armour, on a turn during which they did not assault.
Terminator armoured GK don't get this.
2) Cannot assault after rapid firing
3) Your 30 boy mob cannot regroup after being reduced to 14 models or less.
It is worth noting that there is no such thing as a one handed or two handed weapon in 40K. Some Codices still contain the wording for purposes of restricting equipment selection, but the language has no meaning outside the scope of that Codex.
There are only weapons, they have types like Rapid Fire, Assault, Pistol, Heavy, Close Combat, Special Close Combat
Assault weapons do not grant an additional attack in close combat. Pistol weapons do. etc etc. A Terminator Sart with Storm Bolter and Power Sword does not get an extra attack. It has nothing to do with how many hands any item does or doesn't fill up. Maybe he has a robotic third arm too! It's the fact that the Storm Bolter is type Assault, and Assault weapons do not grant an additional attack.
Take a careful read of the rules for the Relic Blade. It is not a "Two Handed" weapon rules wise. It is a Special Close Combat weapon that cannot be combined with another weapon for an additional attack.It's half of starting STR, so once below 15 models they can no longer regroup if they flee. However, I don't understand what you mean by run away instantly. They're still LD10, they're not going to just turn and run because they're no longer fearless. They won't run until they are forced to take and then fail a Morale Test, like any other unit.so for example, if a 30 boyz mob looses 20 boyz, and the mob become fearful, do they run away instantly as they are less than 1/2 strength or do the half strength get calculated from the moment they lose fearless?
Storm Bolter is an assault weapon. Only pistols counts as a ccw in combat. and you need 2 ccws to get the +1 attack. So pistol + sword, 2 swords, 2 pistols, etc would all give +1 attack.
Bolter is rapid fire weapon. You may charge or shoot, but not both (unless you are relentless, like a terminator) You do not get a bonus attack.
As marines are armed with a pistol and a bolter, they can elect to fire the pistol and then charge, as the pistol is assault 1. They will get the bonus attack for charging, but not for 2 ccws
If a unit is below 50% of its starting strength, it cannot regroup. (exceptions being Space Marines with ATSKNF and certain other units)
The unit must still fail a morale check as normal before they start to fall back.
Example. 10 Chaos Space Marines are shot at and lose 6 models. The remaining 4 take a test and fail, they start to fall back and cannot regroup.
Arch Overfiend & Grand Despot
I currently play:
Doom Eagle Space Marines
Hive Fleet Omega Tyranids
Goff Ork Boyz(dead)
Tau of O'me
Inquisitorial Xeno Hunters
and my attempted foray into fantasy
'Dark Angel Green' Dark Elves in need of fluff
Spambot kill tally. . .337
As a side note, power fists along with lightning claws and thunder hammer only ever gain an additional +1 attack for having an additional ccw when paired with another Fist/claw/hammer.
Warhammer 40k: Blood Angels, Imperial Guard, Grey Knights, Space Lizards (wolves), Kroot, Witch Hunters, Dark Eldar
Warhammer: Lizardmen, Empire, Vampire Counts, Brettonians, High Elves, Skaven