Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Jump Infantry may choose to move normally during their movement phase. This can be useful if they want to end the move in difficult terrain, for example. My question is: If you choose to move models with Jet Packs normally during the movement phase, can they still use the extra 6" jump movement during their next assault phase?
My thought on that would be no, because in the sentence which states that jet packs can always move 6” in the assault phase, says right before it “when using the jet pack", which to me implies that you need to use the jet pack in the movement phase to get the advantage of it in the assault phase.
Last edited by Platypus; January 31st, 2009 at 14:33.
Primary Army: Tyranids; Secondary Army: Space Wolves
It's Illeagle, but it' s not that illeagle. - John Public
(Pg.52 Main rulebook under Jet Packs)
"In the movement phase, they only move 6" when using their packs, but are always able to move 6" in the Assault phase."
The second half of the sentence tells you that you may always move 6" in the assault phase which tells that you that you may move in the assault phase regardless of if you use the jet pack in the movement phase. You don't need to use the jet pack in the movement to gain it's ability in the assault phase, nor do you have to move at all.
So in regards to your question yes you can move in the assault phase even if you don't make use of the jet packs in the movement phase.
Warhammer 40k: Blood Angels, Imperial Guard, Grey Knights, Space Lizards (wolves), Kroot, Witch Hunters, Dark Eldar
Warhammer: Lizardmen, Empire, Vampire Counts, Brettonians, High Elves, Skaven
They did however close the 4E loophole that allowed you to dodge dangerous terrain tests by doing this. Sorry suit armies!
Interesting. I guess this is only useful when the jet pack [unit] moves [normally] out of difficult terrain so he can get the extra distance without taking a danger test. Thanks for the help!
Last edited by Krovin-Rezh; January 31st, 2009 at 21:50. Reason: clarification
Negative, both entering AND leaving terrain now causes dangerous tests. As InquisitorAffe said, in 4th you could walk into terrain, then jump out and not test, but now this has been removed.
Blais's Paint Studio-Getting broken armies good soft scores since 2009
Sorry, I didn't phrase that well. My example was as follows:
1. Move normally into difficult terrain without jets. Shoot from cover.
2. Wait until next turn.
3. Move normally out of difficult terrain without jets.
4. Use jets to find some other piece of cover that isn't difficult during that assault phase.
And how would this “you may always move 6" in the assault phase,” go if you have gone to ground?
“Always” is much too direct a word for GW to use in their rules methinks but I agree with this threads verdict though.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
That's a good point wicky. I think it's over-aggressive wording. For Go to Ground, I would say that the unit "always" can move 6" in the assault phase, but the marker placed on the unit overrides any contradictory rules the unit might normally have.