Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Just a question for clarification because I couldn't find it in the Rule manual.
The situation is two Monstrous creatures assault a rhino with troops.....one has a higher initiative...
the one with the higher INT explodes the rhino, and the troops are now sitting out there...
Now does the second creature get to assault the troops if they are in range? or was their initial assault against the rhino so its wasted?
I could go either way on this so just looking to see what others think?
The only time it's legal to come within 1" of an enemy is when you're assaulting. Therefore, it would be illegal for the disembarking troops to get out in base contact with the second attacker, so how could it be possible for him to be engaged with them?
Don't know I just couldn't find a 100% answer anywhere in the rule book.....the closest thing I could find was shooting and destroying the vehicle then being able to assault the figures.
The second MC couldn't assault the passegers if the rhino was destroyed in the assault phase, but bear in mind that if the passengers can't be disembarked without being within 1'' of the MCs they are destroyed, I'll find pg. #s when I get at my book.
Last edited by Deris87; February 8th, 2009 at 02:22.
I think maybe you're playing the assault phase wrong. When you do your assault moves, you do every move for the entire turn, before anybody makes any attacks. So both MCs have already moved into position in base contact with the rhino before either is able to attack. After the first one destroys it, there's just nothing there for the second one to hit.
R3con had the right of it.
All of your assaults are declared and moved in the assault phase, BEFORE the close combat phase. Once the CC phase starts, your MC's are only 'locked' in combat with the vehicle, so they may only attack the vehicle regardless of any other funky circumstances.
However, there is still advantage to having both MC's in the vicinity when the tank explodes. as R3con pointed out, the passengers in the tank must disembark within 2" of any tank doors (if it was wrecked) and they cannot be within 1" of any enemy units. Any that cannot be placed in this manner are destroyed. So while you may not get a CC round against them (and they could charge you on their turn if they pass their pinning test), there is still a chance that you might take some of the suckers down by having the second MC in the area.
So basically, yes. The attacks of the second MC are wasted, but if you placed him with the above rule in mind when you charged the tank, you may still get a lot of use out of the fella.
T'oog Spiderbutt, The Useless:
Who nearly survived a tussle for some cave.
Who almost killed something in that creepy forest.
Who briefly considered holding his ground during that battle on those plains...
There's an interesting little rule here: P.67 BRB lines 6 - end of paragraph under "Disembarking" states that in certain circumstances embarked troops may make an "emergency disembarkation".However, there is still advantage to having both MC's in the vicinity when the tank explodes. as R3con pointed out, the passengers in the tank must disembark within 2" of any tank doors (if it was wrecked) and they cannot be within 1" of any enemy units. Any that cannot be placed in this manner are destroyed. So while you may not get a CC round against them (and they could charge you on their turn if they pass their pinning test), there is still a chance that you might take some of the suckers down by having the second MC in the area.
The only fly in the ointment about this emergency disembarkation is that the paragraph seems to be referring to disembarkation in the Movement Phase, not the Assault Phase. So the question now arises: can this be applied to the Assault Phase as well?
Last edited by eiglepulper; February 9th, 2009 at 08:41.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"