Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Im just wondering if anyone can help, it says in the new codex that one veteran may be a company Champion with a power weapon and a combat shield. Then it says below that any veteran may have the option to change his weopon to a power fist or plasma pistol e.c.t.....Is the company champion allowed to change his weapon selections to a power fist and plasma pistolPleaz help!
Yes he can. He has the Company Champion upgrade, but the model is still a Veteran.
But some one said that you can't. Once you've upgraded him toa company champion he stays with the same weapons
Well, think about it this way. Start with the minimum size unit and upgrade one of the Veterans to Company Champion. If he's not a Veteran anymore, that's illegal because you now have 3 Veterans and you need at least 4 in the unit.
Would GW include an option that makes your unit illegal? I don't think so. If the Company Champion was meant to no longer be a Veteran, then the wording would have been something like this:
"The squad may include a Company Champion for +X points."
A Unit upgrade with a different statline uses its own rules beyond basic Unit Armour/ armament.
This is usually pretty clear unless *all* of the models in a Unit are Sergeants . . .
C: SM p132, Honour Guard rules under "Unit Options": Only one upgrade character is listed here.
Numerous "Model Options" are then listed for those parts of the Unit with the "Veteran" statline.
The Co Champ is essentially the Squad Leader of a Veteran Unit. Literally, the Vet Sergeant.
The Co Champ character is meant to use the Sword and Shield bits from the box set.
What's sold is what's playtested, and so that's what those upgrade rules describe.
Everyone's clear on the whole "model company" concept, right?
Anyone else miss the Bits Service and Armoury?
Last edited by Playa; February 17th, 2009 at 05:27. Reason: Smileys On
Right, p132 in the Codex
He does not lose the grenades, power armour or his existing weaponry (ccw & bolt pistol. Note: it would say "replaces his weaponry with".)
You get a veteran, give him a P.Fist, then upgrade to a champion. He currently has a power fist, a power sword, combat sheild, bolt pistol (goes well with the combat sheild) etc etc.
for WYSWYG purpouses it's going to be quite a conversion, however a finished company champion with fist and shield is quite acceptable.
Essentially being the squad leader is your take on it - He is not, actually the squad leader. (Worthy of note as some rules affect only a squad leader)
It is not just a company that makes models. It produces tabletop wargames (including rules and the models for them) unfortunately their wording on the rules is sometimes poor.
and yes, i miss the bits too.
Adeptus Mechanicus Marines: http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...ml#post1655065
of course you could give the veteran a power fist before upgrading him to a champion, then he keeps the fist there as well.
although its a complete waste of points, a power weapon is enough for him really