Necron staying on the field waiting for WBB until they fail WBB - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
  1. #1
    This is for the haters... CrownAxe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,308
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    192 (x4)

    Necron staying on the field waiting for WBB until they fail WBB

    If their are warriors awaiting WBB, and they aren't in 6" of a warrior. do they remain on the field as ruble until a warrior comes along so that they can take a WBB test? Or do they get removed at the start of the necron turn since they couldn't take the test?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Firefly Skarsgard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Outer Rim
    Age
    44
    Posts
    4,209
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    399 (x8)

    They get removed unless you are planning on using a monolith on them.
    Mirage Arcana Podcast
    The "A Smart Player Will..." theory is a complete paradox. If we make an assumption that everything we do is outsmarted, then theoretically we can never win.

  4. #3
    This is for the haters... CrownAxe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,308
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    192 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by Skarsgard View Post
    They get removed unless you are planning on using a monolith on them.
    These aren't warriors that failed their test, these are the warriors that don't qualify for WBB because they aren't in 6" of another warrior (or 12" of tomb spider)
    Last edited by CrownAxe; February 15th, 2009 at 09:08.

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    454
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    61 (x0)

    If they're not eligible to take a WBB test the turn after they were destroyed, they are removed from the table.

  6. #5
    Monkey of Mystery The Paint Monkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Age
    40
    Posts
    2,789
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    743 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Deris87 View Post
    If they're not eligible to take a WBB test the turn after they were destroyed, they are removed from the table.
    We've had this discussion before and I think the end result was undecided. The necron codex is ambiguous about warriors down but not attempting WBB due to not meeting conditions to do so. It's viewed by some players that they don't meet the conditions and should be removed and viewed by others that the warrior remains until the test can be made and is then either removed or resurrected. It's not helped by what seems to be variations in Codex:Necron editions, I believe.
    No more NG spearmen, thanks! Now I need some pump-wagons!

  7. #6
    Scourge Lord Krovin-Rezh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    1,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    204 (x6)

    To paraphrase the current codex, it says...

    (1.) You may self-repair damaged Necrons at the start of each Necron turn.

    (2.) You (always) roll for the self-repair if the model is capable.

    (3.) Self-repair only works if the Necron is up to 6" away from another model of the same type.

    The part that must be understood here is that self-repair is an ability, and that allows not only the rolling of dice, but also the actual repair of the model. Both of these must be possible for a model to be capable of self-repair as mentioned in #2. If #3 is not true, the model is not capable and is not forced to use the ability right away, according to #1.
    Last edited by Krovin-Rezh; February 16th, 2009 at 04:56. Reason: Oops, I meant to put the "not" in there.

    --•-My 40K projects-•--

  8. #7
    Mathhammer wielder! Prittstift's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Holland
    Age
    32
    Posts
    370
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    28 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Krovin-Rezh View Post
    To paraphrase the current codex, it says...

    (1.) You may self-repair damaged Necrons at the start of each Necron turn.

    (2.) You (always) roll for the self-repair if the model is capable.

    (3.) Self-repair only works if the Necron is up to 6" away from another model of the same type.

    The part that must be understood here is that self-repair is an ability, and that allows not only the rolling of dice, but also the actual repair of the model. Both of these must be possible for a model to be capable of self-repair as mentioned in #2. If #3 is true, the model is not capable and is not forced to use the ability right away, according to #1.
    Granted, the codex does not specificy state that it has to be the same turn, yet one would think for clarity's sake one might be tempted not to interpid it that way.

  9. #8
    Monkey of Mystery The Paint Monkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Age
    40
    Posts
    2,789
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    743 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Prittstift View Post
    Granted, the codex does not specificy state that it has to be the same turn, yet one would think for clarity's sake one might be tempted not to interpid it that way.
    My friend, there are many rules I'd choose to interpret differently to the rulebook.... Unfortunately the rules is the rules.
    No more NG spearmen, thanks! Now I need some pump-wagons!

  10. #9
    Dark Eldar Zealot Wicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Menai Sydney Australia
    Age
    56
    Posts
    3,699
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    434 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by CrownAxe View Post
    If their are warriors awaiting WBB, and they aren't in 6" of a warrior. do they remain on the field as ruble until a warrior comes along so that they can take a WBB test? Or do they get removed at the start of the necron turn since they couldn't take the test?
    Well according to the FAQ you remove Necrons that fail their WWB roll are removed when they fail, unless a Monolith portal is used to teleport during the current move. (Point to Skasgard for the heads up on this.)

    Cheers.
    In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.

  11. #10
    This is for the haters... CrownAxe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,308
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    192 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by Wicky View Post
    Well according to the FAQ you remove Necrons that fail their WWB roll are removed when they fail, unless a Monolith portal is used to teleport during the current move. (Point to Skasgard for the heads up on this.)

    Cheers.
    That has nothing to do with my question, since the necrons in question didn't fail the test WBB test as they never took it because they didn't qualify

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts