Unit Cohesion and Close Combat - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Age
    28
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Unit Cohesion and Close Combat

    Say I have a squad of terminators with a dreadnought behind them, and all are within assaulting distance of an enemy unit. Is it permissible to split the terminator squad during the assault (thus breaking unit cohesion) to allow for the dreadnought to move directly forward into base contact with the enemy unit as well?

    Basically, does unit cohesion matter during the assault phase as long as the squad returns to unit cohesion during the movement phase?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Son of LO psichotykwyrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Panama City Beach, Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    443 (x8)

    The unit has to maintain Coherency during the assault move.

    It might be possible to move the Terminators such that they left a sufficient gap for the Dreadnought to assault, so long as the Terminators maintained coherency.

    Its not likely due to the size of a dread base, but depending on the assaulted unit's positioning, its theoretically possible.
    "It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
    ---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes

  4. #3
    Senior Member stayscrunchyinmilk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    London
    Age
    36
    Posts
    2,399
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    370 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by psichotykwyrm View Post
    The unit has to maintain Coherency during the assault move.

    It might be possible to move the Terminators such that they left a sufficient gap for the Dreadnought to assault, so long as the Terminators maintained coherency.

    Its not likely due to the size of a dread base, but depending on the assaulted unit's positioning, its theoretically possible.
    you could of course move the dread first, then the terminators. (as long as the terminators are within squad cohesion and 2" of a combatent they're fine)

  5. #4
    Airborne Mastershake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,664
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    479 (x8)

    The problem there is that the dread cannot move through the termies unless there is enough room between the bases (doubtful unless he's already broken coherency). If there is enough room for it to move around the squad then you could just move the dread first.

    From a practical standpoint you could try this approach, move termies first and shift them to one side i.e. you'll have to move closest to closest first, but as long as you can keep hitting new models you could try shifting the squad off to one side. This is pretty situational though and I'm not sure if the circumstances would allow it.

    The true answer to this one is that you really need to factor this in next time you're moving for an assault and bear it in mind when deciding which chargers to move first.
    Blais's Paint Studio-Getting broken armies good soft scores since 2009

  6. #5
    ....coookies... GDMNW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    London, UK
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,750
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    288 (x6)

    Ah

    Ah,

    The key here is that you can only move one unit at a time.

    If the dreadnough can get around the squad then you are fine. Charge with the dread first, then your opponent responds to the charge, then you move the Terminators.

    Alternatively if you charge with the Terminators you may be able to leave space so that your opponents pile in moves bring the Dreadnought in range.

    You cannot move two units at the same time. You must fully resolve one charge before the next can be executed.

    Were it me I would charge the Terminators to one side, it doesn't matter which. When your opponent piles in some of them will flank the Terminators as they make their pile in moves and the Dread can charge these models.

    The charge response is the thing!

    As for cohesion, you must always finish your move in coherency. If coherency is broken by enemy action then you must regain coherency before undertaking other actions. You can't charge out of coherency.



  7. #6
    Son of LO psichotykwyrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Panama City Beach, Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    443 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Zarahemna View Post

    If the dreadnough can get around the squad then you are fine. Charge with the dread first, then your opponent responds to the charge, then you move the Terminators.

    Alternatively if you charge with the Terminators you may be able to leave space so that your opponents pile in moves bring the Dreadnought in range.
    Actually, all charges are made, then all "defenders react" moves are made.
    "It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
    ---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes

  8. #7
    The ORIGINAL Sniper Puss eiglepulper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Age
    57
    Posts
    2,841
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    596 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by skyguy06 View Post
    Say I have a squad of terminators with a dreadnought behind them, and all are within assaulting distance of an enemy unit.
    Ideally it would be good to get the Dread in first, but due to his being behind the Terminators, if he is not positioned on or near the edge of the Terminator unit then his 6" charge move would have to be done in an elliptical curve which could mean he would have to move more than 6", thus preventing the assault.

    There are quite a few elements which would have to line up nicely for you to execute this two-unit assault: the relative positions of the Dread and the Terminators as already mentioned, and also that of the Termies and the enemy unit.

    As you know, the initial model assaulting must be the one which has the least movement required in order to attain BtB contact with the enemy unit. Afterwards, all the remaining friendly models may move up to their maximum charge distance but they *have* to use this move to gain BtB contact with an unengaged enemy model where possible.

    If you had one model left who was say 5" away from an unengaged enemy model, you would have to move him into BtB with that enemy model. You couldn't move him 6" to the right to allow a gap to be left for your Dreadnought to come piling forward into the fray as that would be a contravention of the rules.

    However, a little bit of judicious thinking out of a move sequence should allow you to create a gap for Mr Dread if you're lucky.

    E.
    "Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"

  9. #8
    Dark Eldar Zealot Wicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Menai Sydney Australia
    Age
    56
    Posts
    3,699
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    434 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by skyguy06 View Post
    Basically, does unit cohesion matter during the assault phase as long as the squad returns to unit cohesion during the movement phase?

    Basically if a unit breaks cohesion it can do nothing except to try and regain it.

    So you can never deliberately break it in a game, only by consequence can this happen.
    In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Age
    28
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Thank you all for the answers

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts