Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Imagine a formation of a sqaud of Nobz behind a squad of boyz. The two squads are tightly packed with the boyz base to base with the Nobz, forming a line infront of them. Warhammer bases are less than one inch long (i forget the exact length), so it is impossible to assault the boyz without comming within an inch of the nobz, but it is impossible to come into base to base contact with the Nobz because the boyz are in the way.
I read in a FAQ somewhere that it is a legal move to declare a multiple assault on both of these units, and, even though your unit will never reach the Nobz and be within an inch of them, it is ok because you did technicly assault them.
Does this rule apply elsewhere. Say you are shooting at a squad of nobz 12 inches away with some assault weapons. They are too far to assault, but what if you declare a multiple assault on those nobz and unit of boyz 3 inches away. You will never reach the nobz, but you will hit the boyz and you will have assaulted the unit you shot at. This doesn't seem legit, but why isn't it?
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
I believe this is similar if not directly related to the believed contradiction in the BgB. It states that in an assult remaining models can assault models belonging into other enemy units. This refers to allocating attacks in an assult where multiple units have independantly engaged, its also cited that a unit May not move into base contact with enemy models from an enemy unit they are not assaulting. And since the first unit you come into contact with would be the assulted they would be the unit you are combating. Base contact being the operative word.
The boyz are the front line, it is impossible to come within less than one ince of the nobz but you're within less than one ince of the boyz first and only in B2B with the boyz. The first moving model may only make base to base contact with a model belonging to the declared charge target. It can come within 1" of anything but can only make contact with a model from the unit the assault was declared against.
So you can only target one unit for assult, thus you're shooting phase on the nobz and charge on the boys would not b e legit as you can only target 1 unit to charge, and if you wont reach the nobz, you cant charge the boys.
I hope this is helpful, if not ignore?? (ill review again in the morning, a bit tired now)
"Quisque suos patimur Manes" - Virgil
Farsight 2100pts (6/1/-)
Kroot Merc 1200pts (1/3/1)
No idea what FAQ you're talking about. You're allowed to assault the boyz and come within 1" of the Nobz because p34 says so. The 'unassaultable ring' nonsense is a 4E loophole that Alessio squashed like the slimy bug it was.
That said, there is no such thing as declaring multiple assault. You declare a target and only one target, if after the first model you move makes base contact with the target, there are other enemies in range, you may then engage them as well.
The rules for assaulting multiple targets still require the *first* moving model in your unit to make base contact with the unit you shot at. if you can't meet that condition, the whole assault fails. p34 second column, it's quite clear on the matter.