Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Eldar WS moves up facing the long edge of the opposing players deployment zone. On the Opposing players turn, he moves up a DF and drops out his FWs who then in the shooting phase run to get behind the WS. After that, his Broadsides destroy my WS forcing my DAs to Disembark and die because there is no place for them to flee because the FWs are in the way.
More of this...
In one game I watched nids overrun several rhinos (the SM player had no idea that they could move as far as they did). They didn't attack it, just move around it so that all its doors were covered. Then the Fexes shot the rhinos and all the marines that were forced to disembark died. SM player lost two whole squads this way right off the bat.
In another game I watched a Tau player drop Crisis Suits behind two WS that were sitting side by side and filled with DAs and Banshees. The Eldar player lost all but like 3 Banshees due to not being able to disembark.
Legal? Seems very legal to me.
This little fun tactic seems to have become the new thang for players (in my area) with units that can move quickly. I wanted to ask though in case I missed something in a rule somewhere.
Read the emergency disembarkation section in the BRB. In short, you have to completely surround the vehicle, not just block doors. And even still, if you just surround it and then pen 6 it, the squad is inside the wreckage, so some will still be able to get out.
This is specific to a vehicle being destroyed, not exploding.
Also, I have read the rules and so to me the tactic is valid but I wanted to toss it out and see if maybe I missed something on it.
Possible yes, likely no.
When a vehicle is destroyed, the unit must try to get out using the vehicle's access points first. If they cannot do this because of enemy models, they can be deployed anywhere within 2" of the hull. Any models that still cannot be deployed are lost (and yes it is individual models). In order to destroy the entire unit you would have to completely surround the vehicle, also the entire models don't have to be within 2" only any part of their base. Also bear in mind you still cannot approach within 1" of the vehicle unless you initiate an assault.
This really shouldn't be happening that frequently. Even against a squad of scout bikers on one side and Vanguards on the other my opponent still had enough room to get 7 Khorne Berzerkers out of his Rhino.
Blais's Paint Studio-Getting broken armies good soft scores since 2009
It is valid, though as Moob pointed out there's some ways to work around it particularly if hte vehicle explodes it's easier to place within the wreckage. But regardless, even if the vehicle is only wrecked the passengers may perform an emergency disembarkation from non-access points and try to stay more than 1'' away from enemy models. Not gonna save you much on a Rhino but it could make a big difference on a landraider or wave serpent.
It's actually easier to trap disembarking models because of the 1" rule, but that's assuming you specifically get the Wrecked result on the transport. Getting it Wrecked is the harder part these days, since glancing hits don't normally destroy vehicles and Explodes makes space for the embarked unit (and hits your surrounding squads too!).
--•-My 40K projects-•--
I'm posting here as my query is a follow on from this.
My raider moved flat out in the movement phase then suffered a vehicle wrecked result. Are my units destroyed as they could not disembark because of the speed at which the raider has moved?
Last edited by Wicky; February 20th, 2009 at 00:56.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
I appreciate everyones responses.