Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I have a question about the Daemon hunter Mystic special rule.
It says that the unit may take a "free shot" does this meen that every model gets to take a single shot with their weapon, regardless of how many shots they normally get. or can a heavy bolter unload all 3 shots?
Thanks in the help in advance all!
"Thank him who puts me loath to this revenge on you who wrong me not for him who wrongd"
Each model can fire their normal number of shots so your Heavy Bolters would be able to fire 3 shots.
This topic reminds me of a conversation I had regarding this ability earlier. When do the shots go off, specifically, how exactly does it work with drop-pods?
IE would it be
A: Drop pod lands, unit fires at it, then the marines Disembark.
B: Drop pod lands, marines disembark, Unit fires at Drop pod.
C: Drop pod lands, Marines disembark, Unit fires at Marines.
I got to thinking about it b/c it does kinda matter, depending on what weapons I'm firing with.
Say for example i've got a squadful of Heavy Weapons.
Relating to a/b/c above, in scenario A, if I explode the drop pod then the marines would take a str 3 (since it's an 'open topped' transport vehicle) hit, possible killing them, before they disembark
Scenario B the explosion would only matter if they were close enough to be within the explosion radius.
Scenario C the heavy weapons would be hitting the marines directly, instead of hitting the drop pod.
Also on a slightly related note: if a drop-pod explodes, are the ramps that extend from it counted when you measure the explosion radius? IE if you rolled a 3" explosion is that 3" from the drop-pod's base, or from the ramps?
And are they counted for the marines disembarking?
"The objective is to win, the point is to have fun."
As to the meat of your question Jemal, I don't know.
For measuring ranges to/from drop pods the ramps are not part of the hull, they are purely decorative. Any drop pod explorion is a 3" radius from its hull.
Greetings from Planet X, I hope you enjoy your day.
Join us in the Librarium Online Chatroom
You are right, dream-thief. Disembarking can happen before or after a vehicle moves, but not simultaneously (p 67). Since the embarked unit obviously isn't able to disembark before the drop pod moved, the pod arrives first & the unit gets out second.
Now, since the rules for the Mystic say the free shot takes place immediately once the unit deep strikes into range, the unit inside is still embarked and cannot be shot at. Unfortunately for the pod, it counts as open-topped even though you would think it hasn't opened up yet. So blow that pod to bitty bits!
--•-My 40K projects-•--
The shots from the Mystic are taken after the squad disembarks from the pod. You can choose either the pod or the squad, they are both considered to have arrived by deep strike.
Because the Codex: DH Errata & FAQ says so.
Yeah, it was pretty awesome until they changed it, grr.
Well since this topic is already here, I'll just ask.
So what if you have heavy weapons in the mystic's sqauad, and they've moved the previous turn? Would they be able to fire?
My award winning Orky tale