Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If an MEQ unit gets hit with mixed fire (2 AP2 shots, and 4 AP5 shots from a single unit) and they go to ground, do they have to use the cover save? Or can they use their armor save for the 4 AP5 shots and the cover save for the 2 AP2 shots?
Thanks for the help!
Last edited by GoodC; March 3rd, 2009 at 17:16. Reason: Thank you added
No, you use the BEST save.. which against bolters or whatver would be 3+ but then you get +1 coversave (6+ if in the open) against the AP2s. That said if you have a big squad I woudln't worry too muhc abotu getting a 6+ as its a slim chance plus IIRC you cannot move next turn
I see the reason for this question. If all the wounds are going on identical models, the rulebook tells us to roll all saves at the same time (¶ 2, p 20, Taking Saving Throws). This means you can't roll for cover saves at a separate time.
Luckily, each model may still decide which save to take individually (p 24, Models With More than One Save), so all you have to do to circumvent this is to use different colored dice for the different types of saving throws and roll them all at once.
Most players should be nice enough to let you roll in separate batches though. I'd see it as unsportsmanlike if they didn't.
--•-My 40K projects-•--
I actually assumed you could roll in batches, but because of the description of going to ground I thought that performing the action 'Going to Ground' might mean that you used the 6+ cover save as an inherent part of the action, sacrificing better saves if you had them.
Thanks for the help everyone!