Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If you use a dedicated transport, can you board other units onto it on turn 1 instead of the unit it is assigned to?
Also, for transports in general (so I don't have to open up another post), can you fit 2 squads of troops into a transport if the capacity allows it?
1 Yes (unless your specific codex says otherwise)
1) Depends on the army. If the specific army codex expressly says that the transport may only transport the unit it was bought for (i.e. daemonhunter transports), then no. Otherwise, yes.
Affe & jy2 are correct. But now you've got me wondering just why GW doesn't want #2 to happen. Is there some reason why this would unbalance the game?
--•-My 40K projects-•--
Page references may be in order here.
Question 1 – page 67 in the Dedicated Transports box out tells me that the only limitation is upon deployment and not during the game turns. So on turn 1 you may indeed board other units if the unit the transport was bought for is deployed as disembarked or separate. Meaning that you cannot disembark the original squad and the embark another in the same game turn.
(Obviously with the already mentioned Codex rules taking precedent here.)
Question 2 - page 66 under the heading of ‘Transport Capacity.’ A transport may only carry a single unit…..
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.