Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Search didn't turn anything up...
If a unit with Hit and Run wins a combat via a massacre can they still hit and run. By RAW I believe you cannot as the rule states that any unit locked in combat may hit and run and if you massacre your opponent you are no longer locked in combat. Is this correct? If you massacre an opponent, cause them to flee or sweep them you cannot hit and run?
Also, Hit and Run says you make an inititive test. What exactly does this mean? Do you make a contested test like a Sweeping Advance, each side rolls a d6 and adds their initiative and if the player trying to Hit and Run rolls highest then they suceed and run?
In order for you to use H&R, you must still be fighting the combat. If you kill all opposing models, you aren't locked and the same goes if one side loses and fails morale. In that sense, I guess H&R got a little less useful as combats are usually done in a round.
As far as any characteristic test, Toughness, Strength, Initiaitive, etc. You roll a dice and if you roll less than or equal to your stat, you pass, otherwise you fail.
Blais's Paint Studio-Getting broken armies good soft scores since 2009
Though the unit in question was my friend's Harliquens. He charged my Grot wall and had hoped to Hit and Run away so my Boyz couldn't get to him. But he wiped out my Grots and thus I said he couldn't H&R (which he did not put up a fight to) and tried to consolidate, but his 1 did not allow him to get into the ruined building behind him. Thus my 30 strong Shoota boyz mopped up his Harliquens in the following turn...
Just as a FYI Witch Hunter Saraphims have their own version of Hit and Run and Codex outrules Rule Book....
In case your opposing player was running Witch Hunters
For Michigan Apoc news and meetups.. www.mi40k.com
Nope, the consolidation distance is specific, regardless of Troop Type.
You would just use the standard Initiative value for any tests for H&R.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
This was specifically addressed in the 40K 4th Ed FAQ in the “Special Rules” section.
Q. Can a model use the Hit and Run special rule if at the
end of a combat it is no longer locked in combat (e.g. if
it has destroyed all enemies)?
Hopefully this will not fall foul of quoting the rules since the answer was publicly available plus out of date.
But since the mechanics of “Hit and Run” has not changed between rules editions I see the answers for it as being unchanged also.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.