Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hello there, i'm a little confuse about the rules for the super heavies in apocalypse.
In the shooting phase part of the rules regarding super heavies in apocalypse it is written that they can fire all their weapons regardless of how far they moved.
So far so good.
My question is, can a SH fire all it's weapons even if he fires an ordnance weapon ?
Anyone has an usefull answer ?
yes i know that ...
but that only talk about the limitation that firing while moving gives you it doesn't talk about the limitation in guns that firing an ordnance weapon give you.
My question is, can i fire other weapons while firing my ordnance weapon with a super heavy ?
it's not said specifically on page 92 or i'm really stupid
I don't have the rules to look at, but if you don't see something that says the model can fire all weapons even if they are ordnance, then it should not be allowed.
--•-My 40K projects-•--
The way I would answer this is to look at paragraph 2 on P.92 Apoc RB, where it says "SH vehicles behave [...] like all other vehicles with the exceptions given below"
We all know that as far as shooting is concerned, the chart on P.73 BRB, with the added rules for Ordnance weapons on P.58 BRB, demonstrates the permitted number of weapons which may be fired, which includes the use of an ordnance weapon as one of the "all weapons" or the "1 weapon (plus defensives)" at Combat speed. If you wish to fire the Ordnance weapon, you have to cross-reference this chart with the rules on P.58. So even if a tank does not move it can still only fire the ordnance weapon. Nothing else.
With Apoc, the SHs can fire every weapon they have all the time regardless of movement. This is one of the exceptions referred to in paragraph 2; this particular one negates the normal rule of "1 weapon + defensives" for vehicles which move. However, it does not say that there is any alteration to the normal rule which applies to Ordnance weapons and firing other weapons in addition to them.
My interpretation therefore would be that if the Ordnance weapon on a SH is fired, then that precludes any firing of the other weapons. However, as you suggest - that "may fire all of their weapons" is definitely ambiguous.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
This is an example of the more specific ruleset overriding general ruleset, just like codex trumps BRB. Normally all your weapons have to shoot the same target-- super-heavies can shoot each gun at a different target. Normally the number of guns you can fire depends on the type of weapon and how far you've moved-- Super-heavies can move and shoot all their weapons.
That coaxial thing kinda skipped my mind but it makes sense indeed.
Thanks for your time guys.
Indeed - A Russ, Whirlwind, etc.. has to be somewhat braced to fire off one of those things - a Baneblade is simply so big that it really doesn't give a damn. For that matter, we're talking about Apocalypse, GW's single greatest example of ignoring anything and everything that gets in the way of the fun!
My interpretation of the rule is as follows:
1] A Super-heavy may fire all its weapons, regardless of movement. This rule doesn't care about weapon types - simply that it's some form of weapon.
2] Are the big cannons weapons? YES. Are everything else weapons? YES.
3] Therefore they can all be fired. Being designated as Ordnance never even comes into the equation.
Besides, as Deris said, paying that many points for a model with that many guns makes absolutely no sense if it can only fire one or two of them!