CMS Deadnought Fire Frenzy - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Age
    43
    Posts
    131
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    CMS Deadnought Fire Frenzy

    Situation from last nights 1250k battle

    The CSM player (me) advances with a rhino full of troops and a pair of Dreadnought (tooled with ML and CC/Heavy flamer) against the orc horde. The dreadnoughts are paired with the rhino too the left.

    The orc player charges the Rhino and 1 of the dreads. The rhino is stunned, and the Dread stunned and immobilized. Dread stays locked in combat the rhino is not. The 2nd dread is a few inches away from the action, with the immobilised dread to its left and the Rhino to its left rear a bit further away.

    Next turn the CSM rolls for dread insanity. The imobile Dread is fine, but the Dread not in combat goes fire frenzy.

    The question is what happens next? Is it?

    1: In shooting phase pivots to nearest model (the locked dread). As it cannot shoot nothing happens
    2: As 1 but IF THE DREAD CANNOT FIRE ANY RANGED WEAPONS (P40 CODEX) TREAT AS 2-5 SANE kicks in so it can now assault and charge
    3: it shots at the unit in CC
    4: it looks for next valid target the rhino (despite P40 saying shoot at cloest visible unit

    Cheers


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    97
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    17 (x1)

    Combat continues as normal.

    You don;t roll for crazy chaos dread tests if your turn begins with the dread locked in combat. Go ahead and take another look at all the rules for crazy tests.
    I couldn't think of anything funny, smart, or witty to say, so I said this.

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Age
    43
    Posts
    131
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    Helps, but doesa not fully resolve

    Thanks, this means the imobilised Dread should not have rolled. The 2nd dread was not engaged in the fight. Thus he still needed to roll. As such does he shot into the combat, decide he cannot shoot into the combat and stands still, decides he cannot shot so then becomes sane, or looks for a better target

  5. #4
    Fun guy from Yuggoth Moglun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Winnipeg
    Age
    33
    Posts
    772
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    235 (x4)

    This is knee-jerk so I'll take another look at it when I have my books, but I would say it's #4: Looks for a better target. The dread should be firing at the closest target, not necessarily the closest unit; since the units locked in CC are not valid targets, they wouldn't count. Same thing as if there were a unit nearby but out of LOS - as he can't see it, it's not actually a target.

    EDIT: Also, 1250k? That's a lot of points!
    Put the box on the table by the window in the kitchen.

  6. #5
    The Singing Blade Dream Thief's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Leeds / Fort William
    Age
    25
    Posts
    1,037
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    70 (x3)

    I would assume he fires at the next closest unit, but I'm not entirely sure. Thats how I've played up 'til anyway, but I'm all up for being corrected...

    ~ L


  7. #6
    Senior Member omegoku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Cork, Ireland
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,076
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    216 (x7)

    The codex says the nearest visible unit, it does not say target.
    I think this should say target (but that would exclude friendly troops)
    I would say. Must fire at nearest unit
    cannot fire at unit in combat so picks the next nearest unit.
    Arch Overfiend & Grand Despot
    I currently play:
    Doom Eagle Space Marines
    Hive Fleet Omega Tyranids
    Goff Ork Boyz(dead)
    Tau of O'me
    Inquisitorial Xeno Hunters

    and my attempted foray into fantasy
    'Dark Angel Green' Dark Elves in need of fluff

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts