Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Do units with the Tank Hunter special rule get the extra penetration against a Monolith? I'd say yes, but would welcome confirmation on this matter.
Yes, the Living Metal rule specifically outlines what it does and does not effect, and Tank Hunters is not one of the effected abilities. I don't have the text at hand to check but I'm pretty sure Living Metal specifically says you may never roll "additional dice", not that you can't get any bonuses to your penetration roll.
Living Metal covers any bonus where additional dice are rolled for armor penetration. The only exception is for ordnance, which can pick the highest of two dice.
Deris is right about Tank Hunters though. It doesn't involve another die, so they still get the bonus against the Monoilth.
--•-My 40K projects-•--
Thanks for replying! I thought that would be it, but better safe than sorry. :3
I know that there's going to be the usual "that was for a previous edition" comment, but in the 4th Ed Necron FAQ the following was stated:
"When attacking a Monolith, extra penetration dice and doubling scores are much the same thing - don't count any bonus penetration of any sort against a Monolith. So no bonuses for multiple Talos attacks, tank hunter veteran skills, etc. The only exception is the Vindicare Assassin's turbo-penetrator round. As this shell is not bonus penetration as such, it will work. Note that you still roll 2D6 and pick the higher when attacking a Monolith with ordnance weapons."
This was posted to show that the subject was dealt with in a previous incarnation of the rule set; it is up to the player as to whether they choose to use this for the current edition or not, since nothing has changed in the rules for the Monolith regarding 5th Ed.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
E is right in my opinion,
The 5th edition has not been fully covered for the necrons as of yet anyway (or many other armies for that matter, too much is up in the air). I personaly still hold true that previous FAQ/Errata that is not directly challenged or changed in subsequent editions does not just 'go away'. Choosing to overlook previous rulings that have not been contradicted or changed is ignorance.
Cron FAQ clarified that the ability does not hit, it corrected the codex's text.. FAQ and Eratta is meant to be applied instead of that text. It affects the tank hunters still and any GW Ref worth his beans will rule that way.
If your army is well built and you are a strong commander, they will be victorious anyway.
"Quisque suos patimur Manes" - Virgil
Farsight 2100pts (6/1/-)
Kroot Merc 1200pts (1/3/1)