Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok so I just read in two different handbooks (1 pre release and one current and yes its 5th ed) that Models in cover get cover saving throws (duh)
But in one, the rules state that models in a squad WILL receive a cover saving throw if behind cover and the pre-release says that Models can choose whether or not they want cover saving throws from the cover(choose which one is better).
Which one is it though?
I know that I should probably follow the real rulebook...but then again the pre-release rule book makes more sense and I wouldn't count it out.
I mean if some Imp guards decided to shoot through cover to hit some termies, why shouldn't you allow the termies to have their 2+ saves instead of a 4+ save? It would seem unfair to me TBH.
Which do I choose?
Cover saves are just another option to choose from when deciding which saving throw to take. If your armor save is better and still valid, you may choose to use that instead. The same is true with invulnerable saves. Just because a character has an Iron Halo (4+ invulnerable) doesn't mean he can't use his power armor against some bolter shots.
For a reference to this rule, check out p 24 of the rulebook where it says "MODELS WITH MORE THAN ONE SAVE".
--•-My 40K projects-•--
Also if the AP of a weapon voids your armor save, you still get the cover save.