Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Is it possible to assault after disembarking from a transport in 5th ed?
This is for both open topped and non open topped transports.
Only from open topped transports or other transports with special rules that allow you to assault out of them, such as land raiders.
If the transport has moved, the squad may shoot but not move OR assault during that turn (page 67, BRB). If the transport has not moved, the squad may move, shoot and assault as normal after they disembark. As stated above, some transports have rules that bypass this.
Lost Nemesis is right.
If it’s moved the models may only disembark and fire weapons. (They count as moving)
If it has not moved the models may move and assault as normal. (They still count as moving after disembarking.)
Open toped vehicles allow a unit to disembark, shoot and assault after moving.
Also some vehicles are "assault vehicles" witch also allow units to assault after the transport moves. This will be stated in the vehicles rules.
So to apply this rule to gameplay for transports that aren't open-topped or Land Raiders, the basic strategy becomes...
- Move unit you want to assault with into position embarked on the transport.
- Stay in the transport for a turn and hope it doesn't get blown up.
- On their next turn, keep the transport stationary and disembark. You can now disembark, and then move, shoot & assault normally from there!
--•-My 40K projects-•--