Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I feel this is a different question than the assaulting into an assault question, so I'm starting a new thread.
I'm going to try to use a scenario to illustrate my question.
Lets say that I have two 3 man squads of shining spears and I choose to have both of them assault one squad of 12 space marines (all the same). After the first charge, the defender piles in, and then I charge with the second squad (all in the same assault phase, just to be clear). After the second charge, one squad of spears is in base contact with 5 SM, while the other is in base with 3, leaving 4 SM in the middle of them and within 2 inches of both the 5 SM in base with the first squad of spears and the 3 SM in base with the second squad of spears. Spears have higher initiative than SM so both squads get to attack first, and they're weapons are power weapons on the charge (so no armor saves are taken into account).
So here is question #1: At this point, can my opponent assign the 4 SM in the middle to all be attacking the squad of spears basing 5 SM, and if so, does that mean that my second squad of spears can only kill 3 SM, even if it should happen to get 5 wounds, ie I could lose those 2 wounds?
Question #2: If that is not the case, and I can't actually lose those wounds does that change if there are special weapons in the group that are based by one of my spears, or IC's in the unit that are based by my spears?
When you charge into an assault with one of the shining spears units, the space marines have to use the defenders react move to get into base contact with them if at all possible. Then the next shining spears unit will charge, and space marines will react again. They can go into base contact with any enemy unit and not just the unit that is currently charging.
This means that the more units you charge in with, the more likely every enemy model is going to be able to get into base contact, so the scenario you described is highly unlikely unless the space marines were cornered so that they could not maneuver at all. But let's assume that's the case for the purpose of this discussion.
Answer to Question #1:
The space marines that are not in base contact may choose to attack "through" another model in their unit that is in base contact as long as that other model is no more than 2" away. If they are all close enough to other marines in contact with both units of shining spears, they may choose which unit to assign their attacks to.
But just because they attack only one unit of shining spears does not mean the other one can't attack them! Since the marines are all in a single unit, the attacks from all shining spears will be allocated by the space marine player across all his models in that unit. All 5 wounds from would indeed be counted.
Answer to Question #2:
Special weapons and other differences between the space marine models only affect how he is allowed to allocate wounds, just like from shooting (details are found on p 25). You don't have to attack them separately.
ICs do have to be targeted separately and the normal rules for base contact and 2" apply. This is because they always count as a single-model unit during assaults. The only exception is if the IC is accompanied by a "retinue" (and not just any squad). The unit entry for that IC will describe if he can take a retinue.
--•-My 40K projects-•--
That's what I thought. Great answer to a confusingly phrased question.
Move all of your charging models that are going to be charging that turn, determine range based on the original location of models being charged. Once all of your charges are declared and models are moved, then the defender reacts.