So what hurts monoliths in this edition? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,271
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    53 (x3)

    So what hurts monoliths in this edition?

    There used to be all sorts of powerfist debates.

    But the 5th edition faq cleared that up (powerfists DO get the strength doubling).

    So what do we think does and doesn't work against the monolith?

    If it increases strength, does it always work? i.e. fire prism linking, Furious charge

    Is tank hunter still out?

    Anything else that slips through?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    In your fridge (your taste in food is tasty!)
    Posts
    176
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    23 (x1)

    yes there are still thing that get through a lith in 5th, these are:

    S9 Attacks and shots with some luck

    S10 Attacks and shot with a little less luck

    as for "Living Metal" which I guess this is about only negates Attacks that allow an additional D6 for pen, things such as chainfists,meltas,MC's,Meltabombs etc, Ordnance still roll 2d6 and pick the highest scoring one

    hope this helps, if not whoops

    EDIT: Sorry forgot to say that Living Metal Doesn't negate S modifiers whatsoever, so yes that chaos Skull Champ can still hit it with S9 Powerfist attacks on the charge
    Last edited by Xirmant; March 31st, 2009 at 14:19.
    There is no "I" in "team", there is an "I" in "pie" however, as in "Meat Pie" with "Meat" being an anogram of "Team".

  4. #3
    Senior Member Absolutionis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Newark, New Jersey
    Posts
    293
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    34 (x1)

    A weapon's "Lance" rule is also negated
    Eldar
    Tyranids

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    New England
    Age
    37
    Posts
    569
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    68 (x2)

    Any bonus you get vs non-vehicles (that is not specific to non-vehicles) you also get vs the Lith. Any bonus you only get vs vehicles you do not get vs the Lith.

  6. #5
    Senior Member Mad Cat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Age
    44
    Posts
    4,967
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    951 (x8)

    You still get to roll 2D6 and pick the best for ordnance so vindicator cannon do well.

    Wraithcannon and haywire grenades just ignore the armour value and do glancing or penetrating hits so they work well.
    Quorn! - Protein for the Protein God.

  7. #6
    Senior Member Lemt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    1,006
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    104 (x4)

    Rending also gives additional dice against vehicles, and the Living Metal rule says that's out.

  8. #7
    Fun guy from Yuggoth Moglun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Winnipeg
    Age
    33
    Posts
    772
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    235 (x4)

    Vindicare Assassin turbo pentrator gets its extra die, as I recall.
    Put the box on the table by the window in the kitchen.

  9. #8
    Senior Member Lemt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    1,006
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    104 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by Moglun View Post
    Vindicare Assassin turbo pentrator gets its extra die, as I recall.
    I'd say not. The Monolith LM rule states that "weapons that get additional penetration dice (such as ...) do not get the extra dice against the Monolith." The base roll to penetrate armor is 1D6, so anything beyond that should get negated by Living Metal.

    EDIT: checked to see how the Assassin's weapon is worded, and it says it has an "Armor Penetration Value of 3D6". On page 63 of the rulebook, Melta bombs are listed as having 8+2D6 penetration, and Melta is one of the examples of things that don't work. Even though the Vindicare weapon doesn't specifically say those are extra dice, the above should serve as precedent and proof of the intention of GW. Of course, I'mm willing to hear a counter-argument.
    Last edited by Lemt; March 31st, 2009 at 20:13.

  10. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    161
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    9 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Lemt View Post
    I'd say not. The Monolith LM rule states that "weapons that get additional penetration dice (such as ...) do not get the extra dice against the Monolith." The base roll to penetrate armor is 1D6, so anything beyond that should get negated by Living Metal.
    I'm pretty sure I've read somewhere that the vindicare assasins turbo Penetrator round gets 2d6, but not it's normal 3d6, against Living Metal... but I can't remember where.

  11. #10
    Fun guy from Yuggoth Moglun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Winnipeg
    Age
    33
    Posts
    772
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    235 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by Lemt View Post
    I'd say not. The Monolith LM rule states that "weapons that get additional penetration dice (such as ...) do not get the extra dice against the Monolith." The base roll to penetrate armor is 1D6, so anything beyond that should get negated by Living Metal.

    EDIT: checked to see how the Assassin's weapon is worded, and it says it has an "Armor Penetration Value of 3D6". On page 63 of the rulebook, Melta bombs are listed as having 8+2D6 penetration, and Melta is one of the examples of things that don't work. Even though the Vindicare weapon doesn't specifically say those are extra dice, the above should serve as precedent and proof of the intention of GW. Of course, I'mm willing to hear a counter-argument.
    Quote Originally Posted by EldarNewb View Post
    I'm pretty sure I've read somewhere that the vindicare assasins turbo Penetrator round gets 2d6, but not it's normal 3d6, against Living Metal... but I can't remember where.
    The Witchhunter FAQ addresses this, and I do believe it states that the TP gets all its 'extra' dice, but I can't check it to make absolutely certain right now.
    EDIT: Or maybe it's the Necron FAQ. Can't recall which.
    Put the box on the table by the window in the kitchen.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts