Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok so I know that assaulting a squad that's in cover grants the defending unit the Initiative advantage and they go first in the assault.
so what happens when say an attacker during his movement phase moves 2(out of 10 say) models into the cover, then assaults.
does this negate the defender's bonus, since there is already models in the cover.
I have a player that uses this against me, in the rulebook you only count as in cover when 50% or more of the models in the unit are in cover. with that being said i assume I would still get the defensive bonus if he cant get all his models into the cover during the movement phase(since he has to stay 1" away.
is this correct?
or do I have to start putting my models in a line around the perimeter of the cover?
Even if your opponents entire squad is in cover 1 inch away from you if he assaults he counts as assaulting through cover. If at any time he has to roll difficult terrain he counts as assaulting through cover.
Ok I get it now
so it doesn't matter if they are both in cover, the Defender always gets the advantage (assuming he's in cover)
Or "Always Strikes First," which bypasses the whole Initiative table to start with.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
The defender doesn't even need to be in cover to get the benefit. Ie:
Unit A has two models out of 10 in difficult terrain
Unit B is in an open field
If unit A assaults unit B, unit B gets the initiative advantage.
Anytime you take a difficult terrain test during your assault, you lose the initiative. Unless you have some ability to negate it. Regardless of where your opponent is.
There is one case I've found when being in difficult terrain does not give the defender the initiative. If one or more models are not fully in the terrain and the attacker can only reach those models, they can attack without entering the terrain forcing your forces to react and come to them. So make sure all of your models are fully in the terrain if you are expecting an assault.
--•-My 40K projects-•--
Basically any time the assaulting unit needs to make a difficult terrain roll in the assault phase, the defenders gets a defending cover bonus.
So even if the defenders are not in cover, and the attackers move threw cover in the assault, the defenders get the bonus.
Unless of corse their are special equipment or rules being used by the attacker, or if the defender is already engaged in combat.