Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
According to the rules:
1) Treating ruins as 'area terrain', can a non-skimmer vehicle drive into ruins through a 'solid wall' (only modelled that way)?
2a) Can a skimmer "tank shock" through a 'solid wall' (only modelled that way)?
2b) If so, and the skimmer is "immobilized" due to difficult terrain, is the tank shock attempt negated?
3) Image the following piece of terrain: A 10"x10" square of ruins on the bottom base floor. The 2nd floor consists entirely of a single 1"x1" platform on a far corner. Are units on the opposite corner to that 2nd floor essentially immune to barrage weapons?
4) Are all floors of ruins treated as being 3" off the ground? The rulebook uses the phrase we assume that every level..." Does this mean they assume as such for that example/explanation or the 3" is assumed for everything regardless of true distance?
5a) Say your units are on the first floor and the opponent is on the second floor. You roll a 6 for difficult terrain. Can you move to the 2nd floor assuming no physical space to place models? Can you 'hang" at 2in off the ground?
5b) For assault, if you roll less than a 3, is the assault failed?
5c) Can you combine the 6 movement and the <3 assault movement to somehow prevent a failed assault?
6) Is the 2nd floor of ruins what is modelled to be the 2nd floor? can you hang people out of windows and treat them as on the 2nd floor?
Last edited by Absolutionis; April 4th, 2009 at 02:35.
RB citations will be easier once we all know what you're asking.
To simplify, here's how we treat area walls and floors -
A Ruin mounted on a base has its base treated exactly the same as its upper floors - Difficult Area terrain providing a 4+ Cover Save. If the Ruin has not been mounted on a base, then the ground floor is counted neither Difficult nor Area Terrain, but Units will still have to take Difficult Terrain tests if they move through the walls or climb to upper floors.See above. Shock is only resolved if the Tank contacts the target Unit.Can a skimmer "tank shock" through a 'solid wall'How so? I'm not sure how you could have interpreted the Barrage rules that way.A 10"x10" square of ruins on the bottom base floor. The 2nd floor consists entirely of a single 1"x1" platform on a far corner. Are units on the opposite corner to that 2nd floor essentially immune to barrage weapons?The rules are written for the models GW sells, which have 3in storeys.Are all floors of ruins treated as being 3" off the ground?
This is due to the constraint of 1in models maintaining 2in Unit Coherency.
For this reason, scratching storeys taller than 3in in height is problemmatic in v5.No. Models can only be placed where there is room for them, afaik.Can you move to the 2nd floor assuming no physical space to place models?If you can't get into b2b, the Charge fails no matter what the roll.For assault, if you roll less than a 3, is the assault failed?The area of Area terrain is called its "footprint".can you hang people out of windows and treat them as on the 2nd floor?
A model with even a part of its base over this footprint is in Cover.
So yes, a model balanced such that it is partly over a Ruin's footprint is technically 'in' the Ruin.
I hope that's a start to answering your questions.
Last edited by Playa; April 4th, 2009 at 05:59. Reason: html tags
I will clarify as best I can:
1) The ruins have a base, thus are treated as "area terrain". I have a vehicle on one side of a wall. I want to tank shock units on the other side of said wall. Note that this "wall" is simply part of the ruins model that has a base and is thus part of area terrain. Can I tank shock 'through' the wall? Note that this is a vehicle attempting the tank shock.
2a) Same as above only its a skimmer doing the tank shock. The "area terrain" piece of terrain consists of multiple floors. The target victim unit to be tank shocked is on the first floor. The skimmer is also a vehicle.
2b) When a skimmer enters dangerous terrain, it may become immobilized. Assuming the situations in (1) and (2a) above and adding the situation where the skimmer is immobilized as a result, is the tank shock immediately stopped as a result of the immobilization? The skimmer is a vehicle.
3) Barrage weapons automatically hit the top layer of a ruins structure. Does the 'top layer' of the ruins extend across the entirety of the "area terrain"?
4) Are all floors of ruins treated as being 3" off the ground? The rulebook uses the phrase we assume that every level..." Does this mean they assume as such for that example/explanation or the 3" is assumed for everything regardless of true distance? This question refers to common shop's terrain which may be greater than or less than 3" per level.
5a) When I say 'no room' I mean no room with distance 1" away from an enemy model. Can the opponent effectively position a squad to cover the entirety of an upper floor of ruins and effectively force me to get up there ONLY during the assault phase regardless of what happens in the movement phase?
6) So essentially I can hang a model by its weapon (literally) or some other protruding bit in spite of the fact that the base of the model is completely in midair as long as the base of the model is partially over the base of the building?
For 5a, yes.
For 6 I would say no, the base must be standing. Otherwise that guy may not shoot or fight in an assault as he is hanging on for dear life!
http://www.armyroster.com Check out my ToP WIP in the projects section!
If you and your opponent agree that the wall is not an impassible piece on the terrain then the tank may move threw it, provided it does not immobilize its self.
A skimmer needs to make the test if it ends its move in the terrain. I would imagine if the skimmer shocked threw the terrain and did not end its move inside the terrain it would not need to test for a crash.
Barrage weapons hit the layer of the ruins that the hole is centered over. So it is possible to hit units below the top level, unless their is a solid roof.
Ruins should be treated as "What you see is what you get". So if a floor is over 3'' away then it is in fact over 3'' away. This can cause problems for unit coherency, but remember the coherency distance is measured from the top of the model, not the base.
Models donít need ladders and such to access higher floors, they are assumed to have their own ropes and gear to allow them to smash threw walls and climb up ruins. But if their is no room for your models, you canít move up, unless itís an assault, and even then only if their is room for a model. Remember that if one of your models assaults them, they must pile in to meet your assault.
As far as hanging models off of terrain, I think thatís taking the "wobbly model" rule a bit far and I would call BS.