Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hi guys, I've been reading Fantasy and 40K rules and getting myself a little confused with regards to taking armour saves in 40K. It's because you can take ward saves after armour saves.
(I know this is probably a REALLY newbie question .... don't hate me!)
If a model has both armour and an invulnerable save does it get to take an invulnerable save if it fails the armour save?
Pg.20 of the rulebook states 'invulnerable saves are different to armour saves because they may always be taken whenever the model suffers a wound'
you may only take 1 save per wound, you must choose between the armour save, invulnerable save, or cover save a model may be entitled to.
Cool, thanks for letting me know.
FYI, some models in 40k do have a save you can take after failing an armor or inv. save. Its called Feel No Pain, but only works against wounds that dont cause instant death.
It is fine to think of Feel No Pain et. al. as an additional save, but it's important to remember that it is not an actual save as per the rules.
I think perhaps that the 4th Ed rules said this better on page 25 under the heading of ‘More than one save.’
“The owning player can choose which save to attempt before rolling the dice, but the model still only gets one Saving throw.”
And before anyone slaps me with ‘Those are old rules,’ just consider the truth in them.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
*Considers slapping Wicky*
*Rapidly changes mind, as Wicky is bigger*
5th Ed also has that phrase (almost!) on P.24 BRB, last sentence of the first paragraph under "Models with more than one save", but the clarifying phrase
"but it has the advantage of always using the best available save"
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"