Double toughness Save? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member HybridChaos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Wolverhampton
    Posts
    151
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    35 (x1)

    Double toughness Save?

    The Instant Death rule states that if you fail a save from anything double your toughness you lose all your wounds. What I'm unsure of is the save you GET from something double your toughness? Is it solely reliant on AP?

    eg. I shoot a str8 AP4 weapon. Does the marine get an armor save since its 3+? Or does he get no save since its double his toughness? [and just tear him apart]. Thanks

    | Hybrid Warband | __*W:7 *D:1 *L:1__
    | Hive Fleet Hybrid | __*Not Unleashed*_

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Suffer not the Unclean InquisitorAffe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Age
    36
    Posts
    2,251
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    381 (x8)

    Sure, he still gets that save, that is determined by AP. Instant Death applies only to losing wounds.

  4. #3
    Senior Member MC Bone Giant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    495
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    53 (x1)

    He still gets his armor save, since it would be an AP4 weapon. If he failed that though, he would be insta-killed, no matter how many wounds he had). If it were an AP1, AP2, or AP3 weapon, he would not even get an armor save (still would get a cover saves if it was availible)

  5. #4
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    As the others have said, and just to clarify it a little bit further - the Strength characteristic has no impact on armour saves (unlike WHFB). Instead, only the AP value of a weapon impacts armour saves; if the AP of a weapon ties or is better (lower) than the armour save amount, i.e. AP 1, 2, 3 vs. a 3+ armour save, it negates the armour save. Strength doesn't have an impact on anything other than the to-wound roll and Instant Death.

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Age
    43
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x0)

    It's pretty common to assume you don't get saves for something called Instant Death. Luckily you do, unless the attack has a good enough AP value to disallow saves. Or a special rule denies saves in some fashion.

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Alamo, CA
    Posts
    905
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    42 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by Spetulhu View Post
    It's pretty common to assume you don't get saves for something called Instant Death. Luckily you do, unless the attack has a good enough AP value to disallow saves. Or a special rule denies saves in some fashion.

    Scary huh? But that's how the rules go. Some how I can get hit by a missle but if my tactical dreadnaught armour holds up I'm a frosty SM.

    yes, you get saves against double toughness, unless the AP is low enough to ignore it, or its a powerfist! lol

  8. #7
    The ORIGINAL Sniper Puss eiglepulper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Age
    57
    Posts
    2,841
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    596 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by girlhunter2102 View Post
    yes, you get saves against double toughness, unless the AP is low enough to ignore it, or its a powerfist! lol
    And if you had an Invulnerable Save you would still get to attempt that save against the powerfist.

    E.
    "Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts