Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
The Instant Death rule states that if you fail a save from anything double your toughness you lose all your wounds. What I'm unsure of is the save you GET from something double your toughness? Is it solely reliant on AP?
eg. I shoot a str8 AP4 weapon. Does the marine get an armor save since its 3+? Or does he get no save since its double his toughness? [and just tear him apart]. Thanks
| Hybrid Warband | __*W:7 *D:1 *L:1__
| Hive Fleet Hybrid | __*Not Unleashed*_
Sure, he still gets that save, that is determined by AP. Instant Death applies only to losing wounds.
He still gets his armor save, since it would be an AP4 weapon. If he failed that though, he would be insta-killed, no matter how many wounds he had). If it were an AP1, AP2, or AP3 weapon, he would not even get an armor save (still would get a cover saves if it was availible)
As the others have said, and just to clarify it a little bit further - the Strength characteristic has no impact on armour saves (unlike WHFB). Instead, only the AP value of a weapon impacts armour saves; if the AP of a weapon ties or is better (lower) than the armour save amount, i.e. AP 1, 2, 3 vs. a 3+ armour save, it negates the armour save. Strength doesn't have an impact on anything other than the to-wound roll and Instant Death.
It's pretty common to assume you don't get saves for something called Instant Death. Luckily you do, unless the attack has a good enough AP value to disallow saves. Or a special rule denies saves in some fashion.