Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Can a unit with infiltrate in a transport outflank INSIDE the transport?
Nope, see page 75 of the Rulebook.So it can't outflank if it loose the ability to infiltrate.If a unit with this ability is deployed inside a transport vehicle, it cannot infiltrate.
Last edited by BlackDragonZero; April 17th, 2009 at 13:52.
A unit that has the Infiltrate special rule loses it if it deploys in a transport (BRB p.75). Therefore I do not think that it can Outflank in a transport.
Yes, units in a dedicated transport that have infiltrate or scout are able to outflank in their dedicated transport (pg. 94).
As Deris87 stated, and has been discussed in the past.
http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...ransports.html (Infiltrating..deep striking..transports.)
Put the box on the table by the window in the kitchen.
Infiltrate, Scouts, and Outflanking are all separate rules. It just so happens that, normally, having Infiltrate and Scout confer the ability to Outflank. Keep in mind though, that there are other ways to confer Outflanking (Such as Ko'sarro Kahn's Chapter Tactics), and the option to Outflank has no reliance on the ability to Infiltrate or Scout.
Last edited by psichotykwyrm; April 17th, 2009 at 23:20. Reason: spacing
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes
Just 1 more thing to add, outflanking can only be done in a dedicated transport, correct? A transport purchased seperately from the unit, generally a heavy slot, cannot outflank with the unit.
Monkey's Killer Kan WiP (Updated 4/29)
Sorry to revive what some may consider a dead horse, but I still have a problem after reading the threads listed by Moglun...
Up to now I have refrained from Outflanking Scorpions in a Wave Serpent, because I interpreted the combination of the rules on p.75 and p.94 as follows :
1. Outflanking a unit with dedicated transport requires the unit to be deployed in the transport (per p.94)
2. if a unit with the Infiltration special rule is deployed in a transport vehicle it loses the Infiltration rule (p.75).
3. Conclusion : an Infiltrating unit in a transport cannot Outflank.
I now see that it is a restrictive interpretation, that may come from the wording on p.75 in the French book (French is my native language) "[...] Si une unité d’infiltrateurs est déployée dans un véhicule de transport, elle ne peut pas utiliser cette règle", i.e. "If a unit of Infiltrators is deployed in a transport vehicle, it cannot use this rule." . The question is : according to this restriction, what exactly is lost by the Infiltrator unit when it is deployed in a transport ? Two possibilities :
a. It loses the benefit of the whole Infiltrator special rule (that's what I understood).
b. It only loses the ability to Infiltrate as described in the second paragraph of the Infiltrator rule on p.75, but it does not lose the ability to Outflank, given in the last sentence of the Infiltrator special rule.
Maybe you guys can help me on this one, as it seems my understanding is restrictive (fair to my enemies... ;-) but may be based on a translation problem. What is the exact English wording on p.75 ? I'd love to Outflank with Scorpions...
Correct me if I'm wrong, but the outflanking rule is not part of the infiltrate rule, it just comes free with it. Doing something that means you temporarily can't use the infiltrate rules doesn't change the fact that you have the separate outflank rule. If the outflank rule doesn't say you can't use your transport than I would not worry about it.