Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Recently, I was playing this more mature opponent. That time I had my space marine and daemonhunter armies with me. I saw that he had chaos daemons, so I was going to use my daemonhunters. However, upon doing so, he told me that if I used them, then his daemons get sustained attack. I told him no, that 5th edition DH FAQ did away with sustained attack as well as a couple of other DH rules. He then told me that FAQ's were optional...that to use them I needed the permission of the opponent. Thus, sustained attack was voided only if he agreed to it also. He said this was in the new 40K errata. Because I didn't want to argue, I just used my space marines instead.
To me, it just doesn't make sense. A FAQ/Errata stating the FAQ's were optional? I need the opponent's permission to follow whatever my FAQ says? Is the guy on drugs, or am I missing something here?
This is from the GW site:
"The FAQs deal with more of a grey area, where often there is no right and wrong answer - in a way, they are our own 'Studio House Rules'. They are, of course, useful when you play a pick-up game against someone you don't know, or at tournaments (i.e. when you don't have a set of common 'house rules' with the other player). However, if you disagree with some answers and prefer to change them in your games and make your own house rules with your friends, that's fine.. In other words, you might prefer to skip the FAQs altogether and instead always apply the good old 'roll a dice' rule whenever you meet a problematic situation."
(WH40K) Dark Eldar - (12,000pts) Sisters of Battle - (5000pts) Dark Angels -(3500pts) (WHFB) Dark Elves - (10,000pts) Beastmen - (5000pts) Empire - (3000pts) Wood Elves - (1500pts)
Well hell p.2 of the BRB...The most important rule then is that the rules aren't all that important! So long as both players agree, you can treat them as sacrosanct or mere guidelines...
So if my opponent agrees I can win the game by handing him a $20. I would like to try this at a RTT and see if I get kicked out.
I was always under the impression that FAQs were addendums to Codexes and therefore formed part of the core rules of the game. The little quote thing above seems to suggest that FAQs can be ignored in a friendly setting, which is fine because in a friendly setting anything and everything can be ignored. If I want my Dreadnoughts to count as Kroot-Archons Of Khorne with a Destroyer Body, AV15 on all sides and a gun that causes 100% casualties on any unit it points at regardless of dice, then I can have it as long as my opponent agrees.
Just out of curiosity... was this bloke using Daemon Packs, Nurglings, or Daemon Beast packs? Because if not then he wouldn't get Sustained Attack anyway, regardless of how voluntary the FAQs are :-o
Bloody heck. They changed the Daemonhunter FAQ! It used to be there along with Grey Knights being immune to minor pyschic abilities (that rule is still in the FAQ). It was also discussed here http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...atak-rule.html
It boggles my mind how DH Daemon Infestation regular daemons "gain the Sustained Attack scenario special rules (see the W40K rulebook)" (DH p." but in 5th edition, there no longer is a Sustained Attack scenario. So before, the DH FAQ explicitly says that Daemonic Infestation no longer apply. Now it says it in a round-about way that "if an option (or a rule) clearly has no effect, it simply does nothing."
-- Added --
PS - Frank, BTW, my chaplain doesn't have 3 gertrudes but my pinhead has 3 cenobytes. LOL. And he was using Daemonettes.
Last edited by jy2; April 18th, 2009 at 16:47.
as far as i can tell in friendly games you have to both agree either way. The problem is the only reason not to use the faq is if you want to do something the faqs have stopped you doing which is often "broken" so while you can play it as house rules i think the faqs are part of the core rule set unless stated other wise and both players agree.
In friendly games yeah anyone can doing anything they want if the other person agrees. Me and my friends augment rules and missions whenever we feel like it, but as for the concern about FAQs I believe that in tournament play that is where they are a MUST play with. Otherwise why even have an FAQ if you don't have to use them?
But really that guy was just beening a doody head for saying that.
"When Blood Speaks, Shadows Answer."