combat tactics??? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Senior Member nigelboyette's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    909
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    60 (x2)

    combat tactics???

    hi im an eldar player who recently played a guy who used combat tactics. i was just wondering if after he fell back he would from then on count as fearless because of they know no fear. is their any drawbacks from using this. is it an upgrade or do you get it for free?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    The Future realitycheque's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Bedford, UK
    Age
    37
    Posts
    4,848
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    403 (x8)

    All Space Marines get combat tactics for free - all it does is allow them to choose if they want to fail a break test. This means they can pull away from your assault, and regroup next turn as usual (this assume they're either playing with ultramarines, or at least with no special characters - other chapters have different rules)

    "And they shall know no fear" doesn't actually make you fearless, it means they can recover even if the unit is at less than half strength (with the usual morale test at the beginning of their turn)
    My Deathwatch Campaign
    Furious Angels: (SM) W22, D1, L9 (BA) W15, D0, L3 | Sentinels of Saphery (HE) W3, D0, L0

  4. #3
    Son of LO psichotykwyrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Panama City Beach, Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    443 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by realitycheque View Post
    "And they shall know no fear" doesn't actually make you fearless, it means they can recover even if the unit is at less than half strength (with the usual morale test at the beginning of their turn)

    No test. They get to automatically act as normal (no Regroup move necessary), so long as there are no enemies within 6".
    "It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
    ---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    454
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    61 (x0)

    Quote Originally Posted by nigelboyette View Post
    hi im an eldar player who recently played a guy who used combat tactics. i was just wondering if after he fell back he would from then on count as fearless because of they know no fear. is their any drawbacks from using this. is it an upgrade or do you get it for free?
    Combat tactics just lets them choose to fail that morale test, a space marine squad might get in a situation where they'd rather shoot than be stuck in combat. They're still subject to sweeping advance rules, but because of ATSKNF if you catch them as they're falling back, instead of being destroyed they suffer from the No Retreat! rule, like fearless. So the downside is they can be caught and forced to take more wounds, which against banshees or scorpions is a fair possibility.

  6. #5
    The Future realitycheque's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Bedford, UK
    Age
    37
    Posts
    4,848
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    403 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by psichotykwyrm View Post
    No test. They get to automatically act as normal (no Regroup move necessary), so long as there are no enemies within 6".
    GOD DAMNED AWESOME

    Some how I'd read the rule without reading the first bloody sentence... not that I've failed a regroup test yet, but it's nice knowing I don't even need to touch the dice.
    My Deathwatch Campaign
    Furious Angels: (SM) W22, D1, L9 (BA) W15, D0, L3 | Sentinels of Saphery (HE) W3, D0, L0

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts